Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Wow, I love Anise Cookies, and used to follow a recipe from my Grandmother. She is no longer with us, and unfortunately her recipe wasn't exact (more like a pinch of this, etc) and they were always tough. I found this recipe and all I can say is WOW. They are light and moist and perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These cookies a delicous. Even my husband said they were good without me asking if he like them. I think next time I will try them with almond extract, and maybe lemon extract. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe...our family calls them "Jeannettes." I used 2 Tablespoons of baking powder to correct the typo (6 teaspoons is what I think the author meant) and they came out just right. Keep in mind that u want these cookies to "crack" and that is why u need more baking powder than in a usual cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
great recipe, but use only 3 teaspoons of baking powder, I tried using 5 teaspoons like the recipe called for but leaves an after taste in mouth of baking powder. Also used cocoa powder and coffee instead of anise extract and made the best chocolate cake cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
LOVED this recipe. My grandmother liked these better than her own recipe! The only change I made was adjusting the baking powder to a heaping Tbsp like others said to do.. OH And I needed WAY more icing than that! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great recipe...these were one of many recipes I helped my grandmother make at 7 years old. Every year we would make at least 500 cookies of just the italian cookies with anisette and over the years as the families got smaller, fewer cookies were made. I couldn't remember how to make the cookies in a smaller amount, becuse there was so many variations. The recipe faded, and become unreadable.You saved my life. This past Christmas, I was able to make them and everyone raved about them! Thank you. grasshopper501 Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe is very close to the one I have. The important ingredients are about the same. One recommendation I would make is not to add additional flour. I knead my dough and it is very sticky. But if you then let the batter rest with out adding flour for 15 min to hr. it will roll nicely and be less apt to become hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I really love these cookies. I used 3 tsp. of baking powder instead of the 6 tbsp., as one reviewer suggested. When I first made them, the dough was crumbly. When I made them again, I used a little more water, which helped a lot. I also used more anisette extract, which made a difference. But the topping on the cake was sprinkling nonpareils on top (after a generous amount of icing), to make them colorful and visually appetizing. My friends and family LOVED them. One of my friends said that they were even better than the ones he got in Boston's North End!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My2CatsR2Cool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I lost my grandmothers recipe for these cookies, but they were always a childhood favorite. I was so happy to find this recipe, they tasted exactly like I remembered. Just the right balance of Anise, I however like others used only 2 Tbsp of baking powder and had excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States