Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Lovely, soft cookie. Remember-- anise has a black licorice flavor. If you dislike black licorice (as my husband does), you won't enjoy this recipe as is. Try it with lemon extract or almond extract instead! I used a #60 cookie scoop (small Pampered Chef scoop) and baked for 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have shared this recipe with so many. I made a minor change in that I don't ice while warm. I have gone thru 10 pounds of flour in 1 month since I make a batch every other day. All my co workers ask for more and more and more, I finally just gave them the recipe!! The best cookie ever. Bake the first batch at 9 min, then 8 min. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Scrumptious! I don't like licorice flavor, so I used almond extract instead. I'm thinking of trying these again with lemon extract. I found these cookies to be easy to make and they use oil not margarine or butter which is another plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These came out great, and tasted like the cookies I grew up with. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Like Grandma used to make, for sure. Some extra steps here, but all well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These were fun and easy to make. I helped bake quite a few cookies with my 13year old neice, who gave these out as gifts. These anisette are light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I really cannot understand how this got five stars. They weren't good at all! Maybe it's because I just don't like black liccorice flavor, and that's why, or maybe my anise extract went bad, but my mom and I did not finish them. I followed others advice with the baking powder, however, they looked like little biscuits. I love pizzelles, so I thought I would like these, but unfortunately, they weren't good. I wish I could review differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Has a nice texture to the cookie, better than the recipe I had. Only change I would make next time is to use 2 Tbl of anise instead of 1 for more flavor in the cookie. This is a keeper!! Thanks Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Wow, I love Anise Cookies, and used to follow a recipe from my Grandmother. She is no longer with us, and unfortunately her recipe wasn't exact (more like a pinch of this, etc) and they were always tough. I found this recipe and all I can say is WOW. They are light and moist and perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These cookies a delicous. Even my husband said they were good without me asking if he like them. I think next time I will try them with almond extract, and maybe lemon extract. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States