Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Very dry cookies. I tried another recipe with orange juice in it and what a difference, much better and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I loveee them, thanks so much for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sirena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These taste really great. I don't know if somehow I measured incorrectly (I really don't think so), but the dough seemed dry. I added an extra 1/4 cup of oil before forming the cookies and I still had to smash the dough balls down in order to get them to spread at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttakwup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Great. Better than my grandma's recipe. Definitely don't make if you don't like black licorice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious! The vegetable oil seemed strange at first - but the flavor is outstanding! Can't keep these on the plate! Kids and adults love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
As long as I can remember my family ate anise cookies during the Christmas holidays and I thought I would try making them this year. These cookies taste pretty good but I would have preferred a stronger taste of anise and lighter cookie. I found these cookies to be a bit of what I call "doughy" and heavy. The cookies were completely done (any longer in the oven and they would have been hard) but they were really dense... reminded me of scones, sort of. I'm going to try again using another recipe that calls for lots of egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent italian cookie. They freeze well, I defrost a couple to have with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made this recipe and used a heaping tablespoon of baking powder and 2 tablespoons of anise extract. They came out perfect. Brings back childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These cookies are AMAZING!!! I followed the incredients exactly but I also read the reviews and noticed how everyone changed the baking powder amount, which I guess Heather corrected to 1 tablespoon which is what I used. Absolutely delicious!! When I was glazing them I sprinkled some green and red sugar crystals to make them more festive for the holidays. I did run out of Anise extract so for the glaze I used almond extract. Thank you for the recipe Heather, they remind me of something my Grandmother use to make. Brings back wonderful memories and the kitchen smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these for the 1st time today. I think the bake time is closer to about 11-12 minutes til the bottom is browned. They look nice with white icing and colored sprinkles but I think they could have been sweeter and even though I added more anise extract, they still were kind of bland. They would probably be one of the 1st cookies I reached for on a plate, but I probably wouldn't go for a second one. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States