Italian Anise Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by theodosia
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I have used this recipe for years and it is one of our very favorites. Don't forget to crush the anise seed for lots more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great and easy recipe. It was everyones favorite at Christmas. The only thing I did differently was add 1 tsp. anise extract because we like a little more of the anise flavor. Besides that it was a perfect anise toast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Simple, easy and tasty! I substituted anise extract for anise seed, and these little toasts/cookies were fabulous with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful, quick and affordable recipe. I added these to my Christmas cookie tray this year. Be careful not to overbake on the second baking. They brown fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Awesome recipe, I did add 1 tsp of anise extract in addition to the anise seeds. (we love the anise taste. I then remade them using the same amounts plus a 1/2 tsp of baking soda, It yiled a lighter version- very close to the texture of the ones you buy in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Have been looking for this recipe for yrs. It's super easy and delicious!! The only thing i changed on the 2nd batch was I used anise extract.Gives more flavor......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I did however, modify it because while I love anise, my husband does not. I omitted the anise seed and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. Prior to baking, I sprinkled sliced almonds on top. Everyone loved it and since it is so easy, I'll be making more later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I'm currently on my 3rd batch :) It's easy to make with only a few ingredients, and it reminds me of the toast my Gram used to make. My first batch I only had one egg, so I used applesauce and baking powder as a replacement, and they tasted good but weren't as crispy as the second batch I made as written. Also, you can use a tsp of anise extract in place of the anise seed. It gives a sharper flavor, but I prefer mine with more anise. The batch in the oven now uses 3/4 of the called for amount of sugar and 1/4 molasses to try to achieve a warmer flavor. The batter tasted good, so we'll see how it goes. All in all, this is a great an simple recipe that's easy to experiment with. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this for Christmas, my son loved it; I dipped it dark semi-sweet chocolate then refrigerated at least 1 hr. to make the chocolate hardened, then served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These were really tasty if you like anise flavoring. I made mine a bit more healthy and subbed 1/2 c wheat flour, 1/4 egg beaters for one egg and did 1/3 c splenda. Since they were toasted at the end I thought they still had a really nice texture and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States