It Won't Last Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
this is a great cake! I made 6 mini bundt cakes and one large bundt cake all from this recipe!! My bundt cake would have overflowed without the mini ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. The cake turned out great. It was a moist and a very filling cake. It does however rise quickly in the oven, but thankfully it didnt overflow for me, as it did for other reviewers, maybe because I didnt add the full amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a winner!!! I make a lot of cakes, and am famous for my carrot cake, and other special recipes, but this is at the top of the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Have no idea how this tastes, I've got to clean out the oven and shut off the smoke alarm first. I even used 6 cupcakes plus the 9" bundt & everything has overflowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Good cake overall. I used only 1/2 cup of oil and turned out perfect. Not the best cake i've had but still good esp. with the cherries. Also i dont get why eggs are listed as part of the ingredients but not used in the directions. ???? was a little confusing to me whether to use the eggs or not but i did and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehjudah
Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
We really liked this. I substituted 1 cup applesauce for the olive oil. Next time, I will put in more cherries. I will also line the bottom of the bundt pan with cherries so that the presentation will be nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
WOW!! Everyone loves this cake. And, truly "It Won't Last" around this household. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bulverde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
The cake is very flavorful and tasty. I suggest you cut back on the oil by a third to a half of a cup. The oil causes the texture and the appearance of being overly moist. I omitted the nuts because of dentures. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made this cake for the first time at Thanksgiving 3 years ago and have made it every year since. It is one of the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted. I ususally make it 3 days in advance, because it seems with this cake the longer it sits, the more flavorful it becomes. I do not add the nuts or the cherries, though. I have never had a problem with this cake bubbling over in the oven. Every year my family requests that I make it again. Thank you so much for this recipe, it has become a regular holiday treat in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I was really disappointed with this cake. The ingredient list sounded so yummy, but it overflowed out of the cake tin & it tasted WAY too oily. I think I'll stick to my old banana cake recipe & just add pineapple. Looks like the other readers have changed the recipe & then given it 5 stars which isn't very helpful for people like me who just make the recipe as it appears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States