It Won't Last Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm not crazy about banana nut bread and this cake tastes a lot like it although it is quite a bit more moist. It is too sweet -- will reduce the sugar in the future. Having said the above, my husband loved this cake. Will bake again in the future since he liked it so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norris, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I've made this cake many, many times and have never had a problem with it. I use a tube pan. Always tastes better on the second day. Try adding some golden raisins, a chopped apple - excellent! Perfect autumn dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by estella
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Recipe turned out great! I reduced the oil and sugar and added 2 tbsp of sour cream abs 1tsp baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The first time I made this cake it turned out perfect. I took it to church for Birthday Celebration and it was a hit with everyine. I followed the recipe, didn't change a thing. No over flowing as some have said. I did think it was a little on the sweet side but not too bad, may reduce the sugar in future. The second time I made it something went a little wrong. It started to darken soon after it went in the oven and I had to take it out before the recommended time. About 1 hour is all that is needed. I will probably reduce the temperature next time also, 325 might be better than 350. Maybe it was just my oven. I will surely make this again! It is a wonderful stand alone cake, no frosting needed. I did not add the cherries and I think I might add a little extra pineapple next time. Great moist cake with an addictive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Cake was not only delicious, it was easy to make. Everyone loved it!!! It honestly was the best cake I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This cake is soooo wonderful. I was expecting it to be "just ok" My non-cake loving husband liked it , too. I just used 1 cup of oil and 2 cups of sugar. I think next time I might add more pineapple...just for experimental purposes. I did not add nuts cauz I didn't have em. I also didn't add cherries. ha ha I guess I really changed it, but the base recipe is wonderful. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good even making it a little healthier! I used 1 cup of applesauce and 1/3 cup of oil. I used 2 cups Splenda and 1 cup sugar. I used about 1/2 cup pecans and 1/2 cup slivered almonds (what I had on hand). I did add a jar of drained maraschino cherries. My bananas were very ripe ones that I had frozen so it made for a very, very moist cake. Pleasantly surprised by this great homemade cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent everytime! I use 1 cup unsweetened applesauce and only 1/3 cup oil, and I substitute sweetened dried cranberries for the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Well Aged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The very name of this cake convinced me to attempt to make it. I did -- and the entire family and now many of my friends love it!!! I made the cake in a bundt pan and it too came out dark, though I used bleached AP flour. I deviated from the recipe somewhat - adding a bit more banana, cherries and pecans. This cake is now one of those cakes that everyone is asking for at my home. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe as directed, except that I substituted 1 cup of applesauce for 1 cup of oil (we are on a diet;) ) and only added 2 1/2cups of sugar, as the applesauce had some sugary flavor. I went on a culinary shopping spree this morning and I bought an "Angel Food Pan" - I didn't know better - but it turned out fine, no problems. I will upload my photo and I will update the rating, as directed by my family who still have to try it :) I loved it - but I like anything I make...so, we'll wait for them! UPDATE: 5 starts from my entire family!:) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States