It Won't Last Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
This recipe is the best all round cake for every diet format, ease and speed of prepraration and it really tastes terrific! I substituted 1 cup of applesauce for one cup of the oil. It was an outstanding low fat cake this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I was really disappointed with this cake. The ingredient list sounded so yummy, but it overflowed out of the cake tin & it tasted WAY too oily. I think I'll stick to my old banana cake recipe & just add pineapple. Looks like the other readers have changed the recipe & then given it 5 stars which isn't very helpful for people like me who just make the recipe as it appears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My husband loved this cake. I reduced the sugar to 2 cps. and cut the oil down to 3/4 cp., and the recipe turned out fine. I only had to bake it 70 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The whole family loves this recipe. I do cut back on the oil to 2/3 c. and on the sugar to 1 3/4 c. I use a 10 inch bundt pan with no overflow problems. I also bake it for 70 minutes (with about 60 minutes of that on the Convection Bake setting). I've made it with and without the optional cherries, but prefer the flavor without the cherries. It's easy, looks great, and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This cake is EXCELLENT for any gathering. It is a Banana cake with a TWIST!!! It is so moist and delicious. I added another teaspoon of cinnamon and a cup of raisins - really a very good harvest cake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
this cake is really good...made it in a 9x13 pan instead of bundt...took a little longer, but was pretty good...very very moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Deeeeelicious! My husband says it's the best cake he's ever had! Easy to make. I found the cooking time to be about 1 hr. for my oven, so check it often so you don't overcook it. I will definitely be serving this one for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
YUM!!!! What a great cake.....Had it for a Thanksgiving Desert, served it warm with a dollop of fresh whipped cream.....Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good even making it a little healthier! I used 1 cup of applesauce and 1/3 cup of oil. I used 2 cups Splenda and 1 cup sugar. I used about 1/2 cup pecans and 1/2 cup slivered almonds (what I had on hand). I did add a jar of drained maraschino cherries. My bananas were very ripe ones that I had frozen so it made for a very, very moist cake. Pleasantly surprised by this great homemade cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This cake was yummy. I made a few variations: I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup and added an additional 2/3 cup of mashed bananas. I reduced the sugar to 2 cups, substituted 1 cup of chocolate chips for the pecans, added 1 Tblsp. of cocoa and ommitted the cherries. It turned out great. Also, I made a small loaf pan and advise people to pull it out sooner or it will burn on the bottom. Will definitely make again and will try with cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Orianne Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States