It Won't Last Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made this cake for the first time at Thanksgiving 3 years ago and have made it every year since. It is one of the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted. I ususally make it 3 days in advance, because it seems with this cake the longer it sits, the more flavorful it becomes. I do not add the nuts or the cherries, though. I have never had a problem with this cake bubbling over in the oven. Every year my family requests that I make it again. Thank you so much for this recipe, it has become a regular holiday treat in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I was really disappointed with this cake. The ingredient list sounded so yummy, but it overflowed out of the cake tin & it tasted WAY too oily. I think I'll stick to my old banana cake recipe & just add pineapple. Looks like the other readers have changed the recipe & then given it 5 stars which isn't very helpful for people like me who just make the recipe as it appears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My husband loved this cake. I reduced the sugar to 2 cps. and cut the oil down to 3/4 cp., and the recipe turned out fine. I only had to bake it 70 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
so great for dessert, breakfast or snack. It was great with the marishino cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
this cake sure didn't last! excellent no-frosting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Delicious and rich cake. It was done after an hour in my oven and turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEWBIEDOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this cake for the first time this Thaksgiving. Yes, it was a hit, but it was more like a bread than a cake. I like it in the mornings w/ butter on it. WOW! Also, the recipe yeilded more batter than I felt safe using in my 10" bundt pan. The first one I made overflowed everywhere and then fell in. NIGHTMARE! For the second try I used less batter and it came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is the best cake I have ever made. My husband loves it and brags about it to all his friends. You must try this. It is very easy to make and it's very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Deeeeelicious! My husband says it's the best cake he's ever had! Easy to make. I found the cooking time to be about 1 hr. for my oven, so check it often so you don't overcook it. I will definitely be serving this one for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
YUM!!!! What a great cake.....Had it for a Thanksgiving Desert, served it warm with a dollop of fresh whipped cream.....Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States