It Won't Last Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
It is true! This will not last! I made this cake and my husband ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
this is a great cake! I made 6 mini bundt cakes and one large bundt cake all from this recipe!! My bundt cake would have overflowed without the mini ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. The cake turned out great. It was a moist and a very filling cake. It does however rise quickly in the oven, but thankfully it didnt overflow for me, as it did for other reviewers, maybe because I didnt add the full amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a winner!!! I make a lot of cakes, and am famous for my carrot cake, and other special recipes, but this is at the top of the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Have no idea how this tastes, I've got to clean out the oven and shut off the smoke alarm first. I even used 6 cupcakes plus the 9" bundt & everything has overflowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Good cake overall. I used only 1/2 cup of oil and turned out perfect. Not the best cake i've had but still good esp. with the cherries. Also i dont get why eggs are listed as part of the ingredients but not used in the directions. ???? was a little confusing to me whether to use the eggs or not but i did and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehjudah
Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
We really liked this. I substituted 1 cup applesauce for the olive oil. Next time, I will put in more cherries. I will also line the bottom of the bundt pan with cherries so that the presentation will be nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
WOW!! Everyone loves this cake. And, truly "It Won't Last" around this household. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bulverde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
The cake is very flavorful and tasty. I suggest you cut back on the oil by a third to a half of a cup. The oil causes the texture and the appearance of being overly moist. I omitted the nuts because of dentures. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made this cake for the first time at Thanksgiving 3 years ago and have made it every year since. It is one of the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted. I ususally make it 3 days in advance, because it seems with this cake the longer it sits, the more flavorful it becomes. I do not add the nuts or the cherries, though. I have never had a problem with this cake bubbling over in the oven. Every year my family requests that I make it again. Thank you so much for this recipe, it has become a regular holiday treat in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States