It Won't Last Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very moist and delicious. Used walnuts instead of pecan and put a maple glaze on it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinckley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Angora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Good cake...I used applesauce for half the oil and only used 2 cups of splenda. I didn't use the cherries and this cake was excellent with just a small dollop of whipped cream. I love cakes that don't need frosting! Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I love this cake! I add 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves and don't use the cherries. It is gone in 2 days in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is THE cake of the year for me-I have made over 15 of these this year. Everyone loves it and I love baking it!! I baked these in loaf pans and gave them out door to door on Christmas eve-I am making my final one of the year tonight for our party. I havn't had one bit of trouble from this cake as other's have with overflowing, but I did read the reviews and maybe headed that problem off. I don't even have to use the recipe anymore, I just know it by heart now. I hope others will try this recipe again-I use 1 cup of oil and two cups of sugar and I haven't tried the raisans but I think I will do that next--ONE OTHER TIP-THIS IS JUST PERSONAL PREFERENCE-THE BEST WAY TO EAT THIS IS TO CUT A PEICE AND HEAT IT UP IN THE MICROWAVE! my kids also spread their pieces with softened cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This cake was yummy. I made a few variations: I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup and added an additional 2/3 cup of mashed bananas. I reduced the sugar to 2 cups, substituted 1 cup of chocolate chips for the pecans, added 1 Tblsp. of cocoa and ommitted the cherries. It turned out great. Also, I made a small loaf pan and advise people to pull it out sooner or it will burn on the bottom. Will definitely make again and will try with cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Orianne Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is very delicious. It will probably replace my standard banana bread recipe. It made a bundt pan and also a mini loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is getting 2 stars because the part I was able to salvage tasted good. The amount of oil is definitely off. I cut it back to 1 cup and wondered if I was going to have a mess on my hands. The answer to that was YES. It overflowed from the pans, never cooked in the middle and got crunchy on the top. (Although that crunchy part was pretty good.) If I had followed my instincts, I would have added more flour and a touch more baking soda OR used much less oil. I can't believe that the submitter of this recipe is using it as written and not having the same trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
The whole family loves this recipe. I do cut back on the oil to 2/3 c. and on the sugar to 1 3/4 c. I use a 10 inch bundt pan with no overflow problems. I also bake it for 70 minutes (with about 60 minutes of that on the Convection Bake setting). I've made it with and without the optional cherries, but prefer the flavor without the cherries. It's easy, looks great, and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was a HIT with my church! Have had many ask me to make it time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE10

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
It is true! This will not last! I made this cake and my husband ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States