Israeli Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I married a Moroccan who makes THE best couscous (even his sisters ask him to make couscous because his is so good). I recommend the follow changes: Omit the cinnamon, tumeric and curry powder. Replace with ground ginger, paprika, a pinch or two of Ras el Hanout [Moroccan spice blend] or Garam Masala will work too, salt, and pepper to taste. Be generous with the spices; liberally sprinkle spices over the vegetables instead of measuring. The greastest thing about making couscous is that the ingredients can easily be subtituted! Add queen table squash or pumpkin. Cabbage and garlic should definitely be on your addition list! For a more flavorful couscous - cook it the authentic way. Measure couscous into a ceramic bowl and cover with hot water; then drain. Insert a tightly fitting steamer (resembles a colander) on top of the stock pot. Pour couscous and cover with a tight fitting lid. Remove couscous periodically (20-30 minutes) and place in a big bowl/platter and fluff the couscous - breaking up the chunky pieces. Salt and butter the couscous to taste and return to steamer pan. The steamed couscous tastes a lot better than boiled couscous. NOTE: Although saffron is a little expensive, it is a staple in Moroccan cooking. To save money - avoid buying saffron at your local chain grocery store as their spices are always costly. Try an ethnic market (Indo/Pak) and you will see a significant price difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Easy, excellent, low calorie stew. I dice the vegetables and increase the curry powder. I also use a can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce and deepen the flavor with chicken broth base. I have made this over and over-- it is a favorite staple at my house. My son's friend (from Morocco) ate half a batch at one sitting, and he was only 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
When I made this recipe, it came out almost like my grandmother makes it. However, I omitted the tomato sauce entirely (I planned on adding tomatoes, but forgot) and I added the spices I know she uses: cumin, turmeric, paprika, and curry powder. I wish I hadn't added the cinnamon; it tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This is the closest recipe I've found to the couscous I ate in Paris at a little Moroccan restaurant. The only changes I made were to omit the sweet potatoes and to use diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I also cut the vegetables into big chunks, but that's only because of personal preferance. A great (and simple) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Moroccan and Israeli couscous are two different things. Israeli couscous is much larger while Moroccan is fine milled making it quite small. It's an easy mistake and I mean no offense, just sharing knowledge :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mise En Place

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
This is a super recipe if you're looking for a filling, savory dish that is low in fat and calories (I omitted the turnips...). I think I cut the sweet potato too thin and would suggest cutting this veggie a bit larger; it easily breaks down while cooking. Enjoy! It's a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I thought this recipe was excellent. It was hearty and mildly spicy (just right). I used no zucchini (I had none), and 1/4 tsp curry powder. It came out just right. It was very tasty and easy to make. The only negative comment came from my husband who wanted rice instead of couscous. Too bad! I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
What a great tasting combination of healthy ingredients. A perfect way for me to get more vegetables in my diet. I loved how all the different flavors tasted together. My husband and I were a little skeptical about the turnip at first, but it didn't have a strong flavor at all. Will definetely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Nothing special here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
If you're looking for vegetarian dishes to add to your menu, this is a very good one. I followed some of the hints from other reviewers particularly the gal who married a Moroccan! It makes a lot so take that into consideration. Was gifted with a tajine and have been looking for ways to use it.....while not totally necessary, it makes a nice presentation. For my taste...lose the cinnamon and use a pince of Ras el Hanout. Added cabbage and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. Definitely will make again. Americans eat toooooo much meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States