Israeli Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I married a Moroccan who makes THE best couscous (even his sisters ask him to make couscous because his is so good). I recommend the follow changes: Omit the cinnamon, tumeric and curry powder. Replace with ground ginger, paprika, a pinch or two of Ras el Hanout [Moroccan spice blend] or Garam Masala will work too, salt, and pepper to taste. Be generous with the spices; liberally sprinkle spices over the vegetables instead of measuring. The greastest thing about making couscous is that the ingredients can easily be subtituted! Add queen table squash or pumpkin. Cabbage and garlic should definitely be on your addition list! For a more flavorful couscous - cook it the authentic way. Measure couscous into a ceramic bowl and cover with hot water; then drain. Insert a tightly fitting steamer (resembles a colander) on top of the stock pot. Pour couscous and cover with a tight fitting lid. Remove couscous periodically (20-30 minutes) and place in a big bowl/platter and fluff the couscous - breaking up the chunky pieces. Salt and butter the couscous to taste and return to steamer pan. The steamed couscous tastes a lot better than boiled couscous. NOTE: Although saffron is a little expensive, it is a staple in Moroccan cooking. To save money - avoid buying saffron at your local chain grocery store as their spices are always costly. Try an ethnic market (Indo/Pak) and you will see a significant price difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I omitted the saffron because of the expense of it but added more curry powder (just prefer more of that taste). Otherwise left everything the same. It was a big hit with the family. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Served this to a group and everyone liked it. It was a good way to clean up some odds and ends I had from the farmer's market. After reading some other reviews, I added a 28 oz can of tomatoes. If I do that again, will drain them first -- it added too much liquid to the pan. I think the key to this is to add the spices to the recipe much earlier, rather than at the end, to allow all the flavors to meld. Also, I used much more curry (approx 1 tsp.) and about a half tsp. of garam masala we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I really liked this recipe. The seasonings were just right for this kind of dish. Execllent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This is one of my favorites. I make it a lot and never tire of it. Any combination of the vegetables listed works really well. I sent this recipe to my boyfriend in Germany, and he made it for friends there. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was the most bland and tastless dish. For nearly 40 minutes to prepare and cook it isn't worth it. This is the kind of dish that gives vegetarian food a bad reputation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I thought this recipe was excellent. It was hearty and mildly spicy (just right). I used no zucchini (I had none), and 1/4 tsp curry powder. It came out just right. It was very tasty and easy to make. The only negative comment came from my husband who wanted rice instead of couscous. Too bad! I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Excellent recipe. I changed it up just a bit, leaving out the turnip and changing some spices, but it was excellent! I definitely will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
a-w-e-s-o-m-e
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
this makes a lot of food. Instead of zucchini i added summer squash and i diced and added an apple to the carrot potato and turnip stage - the colors were beautifuland it tasted fantastic. i fried some raw peanuts with olive oil, cinnomon tummeric and salt and put them on top. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States