Israeli Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
DO NOT cook for as long as it says. My potatoes came out mushy and I didn't julienne them, I just cubed them and the time on the recipe is too long for cubing! Flavor was okay. I was wanting more. If I made again I would add the spices with the olive oil and add more of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
It was our first Moroccan Couscous of any type and it just was not that amazing... and the spices were very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David and Krista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
If you're looking for vegetarian dishes to add to your menu, this is a very good one. I followed some of the hints from other reviewers particularly the gal who married a Moroccan! It makes a lot so take that into consideration. Was gifted with a tajine and have been looking for ways to use it.....while not totally necessary, it makes a nice presentation. For my taste...lose the cinnamon and use a pince of Ras el Hanout. Added cabbage and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. Definitely will make again. Americans eat toooooo much meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This recipe was quick and easy to put together once the chopping was done. I added diced tomatoes and a small amount or raisins to add flavor since I didn't have saffron. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Good starter. I needed much more spice as well, partly because of not having saffron and turmeric. I substituted cumin and paprika as suggested, and left out the cinammon. Used chicken bouillon, as had no veg. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made this without the couscous...just the chickpea/veggie mix. Improvised on the veggies, using onion/zucchini/carrot/broccoli/bell pepper. Added some cumin. Served with steamed broccoli and homemade bread. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was very delicious and yummy!!! One warning is that makes a ton of food as is. I did make some modifications. I used the spices liberally, also added some coriander. I also added all of the spices with the peppers/zucchini so the spices had 20 mins to simmer. Finally, I added a handful of apricots and a dash of honey to sweaten up the curry taste, but only a little. Finally, I omitted the tomato's because they just didn't seem to make sense with this recipe, which I've noticed some ppl agreed with me, while others disagreed, so it probably is a taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Fantastic! Such a unique flavor. If you don't have the exact veggies, it's still yummy if you improvise. I didn't have bell peppers or tomato sauce. I used tomato paste instead. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I added the spices in the beginning (with the onions) so that it would cook into the dish more and ended up adding more (to taste) later on... around double what the recipe called for. I didn't have garbanzo beans on hand and substituted white beans. It was still good, but I think the garbanzo would have been better. This dish has a nice flavor. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe was easy, not fast, but I cooked with a girlfriend while sipping on a glass of wine. The ingredients can be subsituted appropriately, so one doesn't have to stress about having exactly what is listed, and for the meat-loving male at the table, we seared some beef and added it to half of the wet stuff. It added great flavour, and the entire meal was healthy, tasty and satisfying. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States