Isolde's German Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
th5s desert was the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Fast so gut wie Mama's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I dont know what quark is. used cottage cheese instead, and it did not turn out well. A disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Outstanding!!! I made it for a Oktoberfest party and everyone loved it. I'm not sure why anyone would sub cottage cheese for quark since it's not even close to it in texture or taste. It has the texture of ricotta and the taste of a light sour cream. You must use quark for this recipe to taste right. To get the nice color on top I had to cook it for an hour and twenty minutes and chilled it over night. Again great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcummings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was so much like my Oma's cheesecake I was floored! Luckily I found Quark, vanilla sugar, and non-instant vanilla pudding at a local German deli (Old Heidelberg, if you are in the Phoenix area). I followed the recipe to the T, except I added "drunk raisins" (raisins soaked in rum) to the batter, as my Oma does. It was fantastic. I am so glad that I can now make the cheesecake that I previously only had on trips to Germany. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
About as German as Cheesecake gets! DELICIOUS! I made this last night for a Company Picnic and everybody (that got a piece) loved it! When you first make the filling it seems a little runny- but don't fret it will all harden up! Also-cooktime was closer to 90 minutes at 375. But soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ekaterina
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Because the dough has so much butter in it it´s not necessary to grease the springform. And if you don´t have vanilla pudding mix just put cornstarch instead, little less the weight of pudding mix, and increase the amount of vanilla sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ekaterina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
quark in german is curd in english!can get in in the grocery store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe was very good(tasted just like the German Cheesecake I remember when I lived in Germany). It was very easy to make and I was fortunate to find a dairy close to home that provided me with the Quark cheese that was needed. After tasting the Quark cheese I don't feel that you can substitute with anything else if you are going for authentic. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wonderful! Good German cheesecake. It is lighter than others I have had. Find and use quark for this recipe! It is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States