Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Made this for the first time last night and it was a hit at the party. I omitted the sausage all together. Used only SPAM Lite. Reserved pineapple juice to use equal juice and teriyaki sauce in place of oyster sauce. Reduced eggs to just 2. Added some crushed garlic to hot oil before adding rice to fry. Did this because when reading directions it said to add garlic powder however I did not see this on the ingredients list. Lastly, sliced pineapple chunks into thin slices. This is a great recipe. I am surprised it has not been reviewed more. Was asked to share the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Really easy dish that is so good. I used leftover rice (i freeze white rice when i make a ton and put it in ziploc bags. just pop it in the microwave for a minute and instant rice) and used the pineapple juice from the canned pineapple to mix with soy sauce instead of hoisin (didn't have any). just really really good dish! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
5 STARS! This dish was the talk of the Luah party I just attended. People I didn't even know were pointing and saying "That's the Rice Lady". By the end of the night I was being called the "RICE QUEEN"! I had never made this before the day of the party.....Lucky me! I got the sausage from a local phillipine grocery store and used 2 reg size cans of tidbit pinapple instead of one and light SPAM. Held well in crock pot on low. Don't skimp on regular rice definatly use the Jasmine rice! YUMMY!!! Must Try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was so awesome! I made this for my parents and they both felt this recipe is a keeper. I bought the lite spam, which worked great, and used ground Italian sausage. I also used fried rice seasoning instead of oyster sauce (im not a fishy person) and it was really great. The seasoning and the sausage made it really flavorful. My only change is that I would probably add more pineapple (was really hard to taste it). Over all this was a great recipe and pretty easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs05

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rasmasass
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used fish sauce instead of oyster sauce, 3 cloves garlic, fresh, and sliced thick ham. I would recommend the green onions cooking - not stirred in just prior to serving. Overall, it was very good. We're saving the leftovers and I'm thinking the flavors will blend together even more and it will be perfect tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe! Oh...and 2 cans of pineapple. If you're using canned then go with Dole. It really is superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is delicious! I used leftover rice, a ground pork sausage in lieu of Chinese sausag,e and SPAM lite because that's what I had on hand. Followed the recipe otherwise. My husband loved this. I will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was fabulous. I loved the play on sweet and salty. Yes, I did have to make changes, but they were minor. I left out the chinese sausage, only because i was too lazy to schlep downtown to the asian market, and I used tidbit pineapple, instead of chunk, because that's what I like. Everything else was exactly the same. If forced to make any changes to the original (other than the ones I already made, HA!), I would use a big can of pinapple, instead of the small...I really enjoyed coming across those little sweet pieces, and wished there were more. Thank you so much for the recipe, I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very good. Used leftover rice, SPAM lite, no sausage, fresh pineapple and sadly, had no GF Oyster sauce, so subbed GF soy sauce, sriracha and a little honey. Added some peas for a veg. Was a little dry, but I blame the pineapple, no juice. Plus, as the entire SPAM-eating world knows, SPAM has to be cooked crispy. Will for sure make again, after I cook up some GF Oyster sauce. Will be super with that and canned pineapple with juice, plus mixed veg and double the onion! Thanks, Chen, for an easy complete meal. It's a winner, and so easy to tweak to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent! Left out the Chinese sausage and used Spam Lite (it still has plenty of sodium & fat) for the first time ever. I added a little carrot, pea and corn frozen vegetable medley. Will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Even though my guests enjoyed the dish, I was disappointed in it. First off, the jasmine rice came out very sticky, more like sushi rice. When frying the cooked rice in the canola oil, it never toasted. Second, although I doubled the amount of pineapple I found the dish to be lacking in flavor. I ended up putting soy sauce on the table for anyone wanting to add more flavor. Sorry because I was really looking forward to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States