Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I just made this for a party this last weekend and had to make 2 double batches(I have a big wok)! I was unable to find the chinese sausage and was leery of spam so I cubed 2 raw ham steaks instead. I browned the ham a bit after cubing it and it worked out great. I also added 1/3 cup white sugar, 2 Tblspns honey, 2 tsp ground ginger, 1/4 Cup soy sauce, 2 Tblspns toasted sesame oil and cut 1 fresh pineapple into cubes. Remember, I doubled the recipe, so the amount is not exessive. The dish was such a hit that even the second batch couldn't satisfy everyones appetite for more. Chen, you're an angel. Thanks for making me the hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stiritup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Whole family loved! -- Cooked the spam really well as the texture is too mushy unless made near-crunchy, and had to eliminate the chinese sausage as the local chinese market was out that day. still wonderful -- the measures for garlic powder? had to wing it and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I can't give it all 5 stars since I don't make it with spam--I use cubes of ham, or BBQ pork--or the sausage. I have also added shredded cabbage and carrots to get some extra veggies in there to make it a one dish meal. Very tasty and fast (I make the rice the day before for best results otherwise it comes out mushy and sticky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Even though my guests enjoyed the dish, I was disappointed in it. First off, the jasmine rice came out very sticky, more like sushi rice. When frying the cooked rice in the canola oil, it never toasted. Second, although I doubled the amount of pineapple I found the dish to be lacking in flavor. I ended up putting soy sauce on the table for anyone wanting to add more flavor. Sorry because I was really looking forward to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Very good. I used the lite spam and cooked a chopped green pepper with the meat because I had one on hand. I'll make it again. I like things spicy so I might play around with the spices a bit but would recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was so awesome! I made this for my parents and they both felt this recipe is a keeper. I bought the lite spam, which worked great, and used ground Italian sausage. I also used fried rice seasoning instead of oyster sauce (im not a fishy person) and it was really great. The seasoning and the sausage made it really flavorful. My only change is that I would probably add more pineapple (was really hard to taste it). Over all this was a great recipe and pretty easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs05

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Instant hit at our house even with those that thought they didn't like fried rice. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rasmasass
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used fish sauce instead of oyster sauce, 3 cloves garlic, fresh, and sliced thick ham. I would recommend the green onions cooking - not stirred in just prior to serving. Overall, it was very good. We're saving the leftovers and I'm thinking the flavors will blend together even more and it will be perfect tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe! Oh...and 2 cans of pineapple. If you're using canned then go with Dole. It really is superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is the third time that I've come back to this recipe, so I know it's one that I can't do with out. The flavor is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States