Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I couldn't find the sausage so I used Spanish chorizo it was good too I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was great! I had some cooked Jasmine rice to use up and this sounded yummy. I got all excited reading the ingredients that I totally skipped reading the directions and basically tossed everything in the frying pan. Regardless, it turned out great, despite not having sausage or oyster sauce. I added a bit of salt but other than that I used what was on the list. It was great! Thanks for this recipe, I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
We loved it - followed the recipe as written. Next time I'll make a few changes but I do like to follow a recipe as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Easy and very very good. I don't add the Spam to it though. I make with the Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker and both go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very Good!!! Mak sure you fry the rice until crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
We live in Hawaii and there is nothing more authentic than mixing in SPAM and Lup cheong. My husband loved the sweetness of the pineapple and said it was the best fried rice I had made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a favorite at our house. I make the following changes, but it remains pretty true to form. 1. Cook rice in rice cooker & spread on greased cookie sheet to room temperature. 2. Omit sausage (just too much meat for our taste) 3. Use fresh pineapple when available...ammmmazing! 4. Use about 2 tbsp oyster sauce and 1 tbsp soy sauce. Highly recommend! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEIRDRE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I had fried rice in Hawaii and tried to recreate it. This recipes was so close to the one I had at the resort. I didn't realize I was forgetting the oyster sauce and SPAM. These ingredients make the rice taste so authentic. I made a few changes to recreat the flavor of the resort rice - omitted the pineapple, and added 5 cloves of roughly minced garlic (the one I had was VERY garlicky. I definately suggest NOT substituting the Chinese sausage - it makes such a difference in the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I just made this for a party this last weekend and had to make 2 double batches(I have a big wok)! I was unable to find the chinese sausage and was leery of spam so I cubed 2 raw ham steaks instead. I browned the ham a bit after cubing it and it worked out great. I also added 1/3 cup white sugar, 2 Tblspns honey, 2 tsp ground ginger, 1/4 Cup soy sauce, 2 Tblspns toasted sesame oil and cut 1 fresh pineapple into cubes. Remember, I doubled the recipe, so the amount is not exessive. The dish was such a hit that even the second batch couldn't satisfy everyones appetite for more. Chen, you're an angel. Thanks for making me the hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stiritup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States