Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
just a little general tsao/soy sauce. no chinese sausage, but some leftover bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I used chopped up left over ham and chicken instead of the meats mentioned, and leek instead of the gren onion. I also added some chili garlic sauce - about 1 heaping t. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made as written except I could not get Chinese sweet sausage/not sure what it's equal is so I used Italian sweet sausage and real ham/not SPAM. One problem is that the instruction list says to add garlic but there is no garllc in the ingredient list....had to guess. I started with 2 cloves and that got lost and ended up with 4 cloves. In the end my daughter still didn't care for the sausage in it....said she could not taste the pineapple flavor much over it and she wants to taste the pineapple. Persoanlly we will stick with the one here on AR called Pineapple Fried Rice II for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
It was good but very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I omitted the 2 tsp of oil, SPAM and sausage because I was looking for something to complement the Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs on this site, that we just love. This rice absolutely did the trick. Thanks Chen, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The whole family loved this. I did make some changes though because I didn't have time to run to the store before cooking. No oyster sauce available- used soy, hoisen, and pineapple juice to substitute. Used ham lunch meat in place of span. Used big can of pinapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've made this a few times now and it is absolutely delicious. I've made a few changes though. First.. I don't use Jasmine Rice, it's too sticky. I use day old rice or cook it that morning and leave it out to dry a bit. I don't use Chinese Sausage, too hard to find.. instead I use Lil' Smokies (mini sausages) and cubed ham instead of Spam. After browning the meats, I saute' regular white onion just enough to soften it. Instead of Pineapple Chunks, I use two cans of Pineapple Tidbits. Fantastic recipe and great left over the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pound Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Every time I make this, I get rave reviews! I usually omit the sausage because my husband is not a sausage fan, and I always use Turkey Spam, but I make no other changes. Even speaking as someone who does not like pineapple in savory dishes, this recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this for a dinner party for my family recently. Everybody raved how good it was. I didn't have any of the pork sausage. Either way, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I didn't include the sausage, but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylviasalvation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Fried Rice

A quick and easy one-skillet dish perfect for weeknight suppers.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States