Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used Spam Lite, and left out the sausage. I sauteed two teaspoons of minced garlic in the oil before adding the Spam. I also sauteed the thicker pieces of green onion, and added the lighter green top pieces at the end. The pineapple juice & teriyaki sauce substitution that others suggested was great (my husband is not a fish fan). Pearl rice tastes great in this! I'm not much of a cook, but this was easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Just took my first bite and heck yeah! I didnt have any oyster sauce so I used hoisin instead. It made perfect sence anyway since its like an asian bbq sauce and pork (Spam) and bbq sauce go hand to hand anyways. I finally found something new to bring to the table thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I also left off the sausage because I didn't have time to get it. Brought it for a luau potluck at work and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is so yummy! I made it for my husband's Luau party. I skipped the oyster sauce and added soy sauce instead. It was the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
So good! I used real ham cut into chunks as I don't like Spam. Great accompaniment to my beef stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was so good and super easy. I did not have spam or the other meat on the list. I did have some left over sausage. I cut it up into small pieces and it worked great in a pinch.I served with Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs from this site and black beans. Yummy will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
My family loves this recipe. If I plan on making it I make A LOT and it still gets eaten up in a day or two. I use crushed pineapple bc I don't really like to bite into chunks of pineapple. I also like fry some garlic, ginger, and whole star anise with the luncheon meat and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Loved this! Served it to the whole family on our Cayman Island vacation after one of the kids requested fried rice. It was a huge hit! Subbed soy for oyster sauce and used a smoked sausage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made this for a luau dinner party kind of on a flook. I wanted to have something to incorporate spam into my theme. It was the hit of the party. I did leave out the chinese sausage because I couldn't find it. I wish I could say how good it was, but it was all gone before I got a chance to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was awesome. I didn't use either of the meats (just sliced ham) and I used pineapple juice and Shoyu Chicken sauce instead of the oyster sauce (I didn't have that). It was great, even with brown rice. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Fried Rice

A quick and easy one-skillet dish perfect for weeknight suppers.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States