Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
We made it for a family gathering and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is recipe is amazing! It always leaves me hungry for more! I did not use oyster sauce or pork sausage but it still deserves 5 stars! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovebaking!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I just made this and am eating it as I type. and I HATE rice! SO Very good. I didn't have all the right ingredients but most or similar. I didn't have the sausage and no one in my house likes pineapples so I used about a 1/4 or less of a cup of sweet and sour sauce and canned ham. My boys will be home for lunch soon and I know they will love this too. Delicious, Thanks for the entry, I love AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Loved this fried rice recipe, perfect with our Hawaiian grilled shrimp. I had some bacon to use up, so I subbed that for the Spam and sausage. I aslo added some peas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Im eating this island fried rice and giving the comment here too...this is a great and i added some black pepper before serve. Im sure I will make it again. Thanks for the recipies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Sweeting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Mixed reviews here. I like that it is different from standard fried rice. My husband thought this was o.k., but I wasn’t real crazy about it. At first, the oyster sauce gave it an overwhelming fishy taste and smell. We had a ton left over and when reheated as a leftover, it had a much better flavor and kind of grew on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit, but loved it! I cut out the spam and meat entirely, (as I was preparing it to be served with sweet pineapple chicken meatballs), I only used two eggs, and I took some one else's suggestion, and rather than oyster sauce, used half and half, pineapple juice and teryiaki sauce. I sauteed in diced red pepper while I cooked the eggs, and about a minute before I took the eggs out of the pan, tossed i the pineapple and green onion, so that they weren't added in completely raw. The base of this recipe is awesome!! I will most def be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Really loved this recipe! I added diced red peppers & baby peas because my husband & I like a lot of vegetables. Also, used brown rice & a thick slice of deli ham instead of SPAM (don't really care for SPAM). This recipe is definitely a keeper. Next time I'm going to try it with cruched pineapple instead of chunks. The chunks are a little too big with all the other ingredients being diced. I agree with one of the other reviews, I'm not quite sure why more people haven't tried this. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This meal was a big hit. I did not tell my husband that I made a variation on our regular pork/chicken fried rice. He started eating, stopped and said, "Is there pineapple in here?" and when I told him it was an island variation he said, "This is delicious." Now, I did eyeball the ingredients and ended up adding way more pineapple than stated- loved it that way. Also, I used regular cubed ham since we are not a fan of the Spam variety. As for the rice, I always make it an hour or two before dinner and stick it in the freezer so it is nice and cold when I need it. That way, it doesn't get mushy. Hope this helps. Thank you for the recipe, chen! It will most definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used Spam Lite, and left out the sausage. I sauteed two teaspoons of minced garlic in the oil before adding the Spam. I also sauteed the thicker pieces of green onion, and added the lighter green top pieces at the end. The pineapple juice & teriyaki sauce substitution that others suggested was great (my husband is not a fish fan). Pearl rice tastes great in this! I'm not much of a cook, but this was easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States