Island-Style Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I think this recipe has potential. I think next time I may marinate the chicken in the curry sauce for a while before cooking it, also may add more curry as I thought it lacked a little in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes to cook anytime I have left over rice. The key to great fried rice is to use two or three day old rice! Whenever I use fresh rice for fried rice dishes it always seems to turn out so mushy. I think using old rice is best because it has dried out a bit while sitting in the fridge so when you cook it the rice remains in individual grains rather than lumping together. Also, I have never had SPAM before this dish and loved it! The saltiness from the SPAM and the sweetness from the pineapple really mesh well. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made this last night following the directions with only a few changes. I used a 20oz can of pineapple, swapped summer sausage for the Chinese sausage(quartered and sliced thin), and half of a sweet onion for green onions (what I had on hand). It turned out excellent! I cooked the sausage and spam together until they were almost done then added the onion and cooked until translucent. When I make it again I will only double the pineapple, it was just a bit too much for me but the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
coming from someone who isn't big into sweet this was wonderful and a great way to use up some leftovers! halved the recipe and used leftover roasted pork in lieu of the spam and chinese sausage.. added some leftover grilled green bell pepper.. used leftover rice.. one whole egg.. 4 oz of canned pineapple rings that i chopped up.. fried the green onion instead of using it as garnish as rasmasass suggested.. since there was no exact measurement i too just sprinkled some garlic powder over the rice as it was heating up along with a light sprinkle of cayenne.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
yum. delicious. if u like fried rice you're gonna like this. i made it as directed. turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
We made it for a family gathering and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is recipe is amazing! It always leaves me hungry for more! I did not use oyster sauce or pork sausage but it still deserves 5 stars! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovebaking!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I just made this and am eating it as I type. and I HATE rice! SO Very good. I didn't have all the right ingredients but most or similar. I didn't have the sausage and no one in my house likes pineapples so I used about a 1/4 or less of a cup of sweet and sour sauce and canned ham. My boys will be home for lunch soon and I know they will love this too. Delicious, Thanks for the entry, I love AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Loved this fried rice recipe, perfect with our Hawaiian grilled shrimp. I had some bacon to use up, so I subbed that for the Spam and sausage. I aslo added some peas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Im eating this island fried rice and giving the comment here too...this is a great and i added some black pepper before serve. Im sure I will make it again. Thanks for the recipies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Sweeting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States