Island Chicken with Fruit Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
Wow! This chicken dish is absolutely delicious. The fruit salsa adds a sweet and tangy taste to the chicken. I served this at a baby shower and all of the guests begged for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
I had extra mangos and limes - and was looking for a good recipe to use them - and this hit the spot. It was time consuming to make - especially with the fresh squeezed juices. It was a nice tsting dish - but due to the somewhat exotic ingredients, and the length of time to put together, I don't see myself making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
I attented a luau the other weekend and made this salsa and served with tortillas chips. It makes a TON and was quite a hit. No need to squeeze OJ and lime juice though. Just buy some! I also diced up some jalepenos for some added kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
This was excellent chicken but time consuming. Not great for kids but great for adults! I didn't have rum on hand but used tequila instead, it was a great combonation with the lime and cilantro! If your looking for a rewarding dish, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
The marinade/salsa gave the chicken a nice flavor. As far as a side dish of salsa, I would have liked a little more "zing" in flavor, but I think I could modify that by adding a touch of jalapeno, or more chile pepper. All in all, a nice dish--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
very time consuming to chop all the fruit for salsa. marinade doesn't quite get into chicken enough. best to set over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Excellent change for ordinary chicken. We grilled this on the b-b-q and it was so tender and the flavor was wonderful! Our company loved it! I would have liked to taste the rum a little more :) so i think i'll be a little more generous with that. The kids liked the chicken but not the salsa, ALL around an A+ in our books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This chicken was awesome!!! My family loved it. I served it on top of brown rice seasoned with cilantro, oranges, butter, cayenne pepper, and garlic. Definitely recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Habra Heights, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Other than using fresh pineapple and canned juice, and I used canned diced chilies, I followed the recipe and proportions. It tasted OK, just didn't have a lot of flavor. This surprised me because it had so many highly flavored ingredients. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
I just made the salsa portion of this recipe & served with taro root chips. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States