Island Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This is actually a great recipe. I live in Hawaii also and this is very similar to huli huli chicken. Six cups is about right in order to cover 10 pounds of chicken. This is a great dish. I have made this tons of times for the family and they love it. I grill it with thin slices of ginger over the top of the chicken. Also a quick note! If you combine these ingredients in a crock pot and throw the same amount of chicken in, you will end up with wonderful tender peices of chicken to serve over rice. We call that shoyu chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
this recipe is AMAZING, something my entire family loves. It's the perfect mix of salty/tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Family loved it. Didn't have time to marinate overnight so poked lots of holes with a fork and made marinade extra thick by using only 1 cup water and added 1/2 cup corn syrup. Blackened the thighs on the grill. Flipped several times basting each time. Finished them off in the oven at 400F about 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This sauce is actually very similar to Huli Huli sauce manufactured in Hawaii. Marinating it for a full 24 hours, it had just the right blend of salty, sweet, spicy. The second time we made it, (and we used 1/3 as much chicken and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly), we added a couple Tablespoons of Sweet Chili Sauce and it was more ono than ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCFOXY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I reduced all the amounts signifantly. Who has ever heard of this much soy sauce going in a recipe? I dropped my soy sauce down to a mere three tablespoons and only did four thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used Low Sodium Soy Sauce - about 4 cups - upped the garlic to 4 cloves. This is very tasty. Please use the chicken thighs, even if you really like white meat chicken this recipe will surprise you. The boneless skinless thighs cook really fast so be careful to not over cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Try low sodium soy sauce (preferably Kikkoman) and the finished dish will not be so salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I'm from Hawaii and this recipe will not work! There way too much soy sauce, the chicken will be too salty to eat. Don't waste your time or money making this chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States