Irresistible Whole Wheat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Yum! The challah came out beautifully and so delicious! I used three eggs instead of the two and no raisins. Made a wonderful French Toast Toad in the Hole for dinner on this very snowy NJ night! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! By far the best and sweetest whole wheat Challah I've made! I'll definitely stick with this recipe.... I didn't use the vital wheat gluten or raisins.... It also didn't rise out of the oven much, and took longer than 30 mins in the oven but it came out to be lighter and sweeter than most whole wheat breads! Thank you! UPDATE: If you first proof yeast with water and then add it when you mix both dry and wet ingredients, It rises much more..... I make this every week for shabbat dinner and have gotten many many requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sman789
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very good recipe and super easy. I made one large loaf with half the ingredients but with 1 additional cup of white flour (so 2 wheat, 1 white). I did not use vital wheat gluten, substituted agave nectar for honey and dried berries for raisins. Also added 1/4 cup milled flax seed. This is something I can eat forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I had been looking for a whole wheat bread machine challah recipe for a while. I tried various recipes, without much luck. Finally, I decided to look for a regular whole wheat challah recipe and make the dough in my bread machine -- I tried this recipe, and it turned out great! I substituted agave for the honey and left out the wheat gluten and raisins. The bottoms of my loaves ended up a little dark; I might reduce the baking time a little. I know I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made a half recipe, just in case I wasn't crazy about it, and took it to my synagogue this morning (Saturday) for our small Sabbath service (our big one is Friday night). Everyone went CRAZY when they tasted this! It is super good, moist, very flavorful, with a nice chewiness to it. They asked me to make it again, and often!! I make challah for my husband (and me) every week, and he told me I could switch to this one! I did use the wheat gluten, and I didn't use raisins, since I knew there would be people this morning who don't like raisins. I will make it next Friday for our home challah WITH raisins, since my husband loves them. Thanks so much for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very nice bread! I braided one half of it and used the rest of it for a regular loaf. I put it at 375, which works best for my oven, for about 35-40 minutes, and they both came out perfect. This isn't really a heavy wheat bread even though it's all ww. I used the vital wheat gluten so I wouldn't have to wait for it to rise for 2 hours, and made the dough itself in the breadmaker, then went from there. Very nice--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Excellent recipe. The texture is very moist for a whole wheat challah. Many people assume that in order to make a good whole wheat bread you must combine white flour and whole wheat, here's a recipe that proves that theory wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy G.
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is a delicious recipe! I've made it twice now and noticed a big difference in rising/texture when I let it rise in a warm place, as instructed. The warmth really helps make it light and airy. I'm new to making my own bread and even mine came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This challah is the best whole wheat challah I've ever made. However, the method is not fool proof because you don't proof the yeast first. So, I had a batch that didn't rise. Annoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this is by far the best challah bread i have ever tasted!!!!! I make this recipe every week for shabbat and everybody loves it. I usualy half the recipe to make one loaf and leave out the vital wheat gluten. I would give this ten stars if I could! thanks dollop of daisy for this fabulous recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunky chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States