Irresistible Whole Wheat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Best whole wheat challah recipe I ever found! In love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
(NOTE: make sure your water is hot enough to proof the yeast, a temperature of ~120 for the water should be added to the recipe). Otherwise, this recipe was surprisingly easy, and it's whole wheat flour! The kneading was the hardest part (and was very very easy to knead, compared to all of the other breads I've made before). The bread was beautiful when it came out of the oven, and was chewy and delicious. We made french toast with it the next day and it was delicious in that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This challah is amazing! I put the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough setting. When the dough is ready, I braid it, let it rise, and brush with an egg wash and sesame seeds. I haven't made it with raisins or the vital wheat gluten. Everyone who has tried it loves it! It doesn't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Amazing. :) This is the BEST whole wheat bread I've ever tasted. Most WW bread is dense and dry, but this tastes like Nature's Own Whole Wheat bread. Only 5x better. I use the dough and then the bake setting on our bread maker, and the loaf rises so much that is pushes the top off. :) It is delicious, and stays moist for 4-5 day. I use it to make my sandwiches, and it tastes delicious microwaved with a little bit of honey drizzled on top. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Test
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is our family's new favorite whole wheat recipe! We like to swap out half the honey for molasses. We also like to use this as a base recipe for cinnamon raisin swirl bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
healthy, delicious. I added extra egg for enhanced flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
We tried many different challah recipes trying to get something close to a whole wheat version of Cheryl Ann's challah in Boston. Everything else was too dry, but this is very moist. I double the recipe and make 4 loaves at a time and freeze what I don't use. I do all the mixing and kneading in my kitchen aid mixer. I have made a few minor changes from a direct doubling of ingredients. I use 1/2 cup honey and 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon salt, and 5 eggs instead of 4. I also proof the yeast in 1 cup warm water in a 2 cup measuring cup until it's bubbling near the top and add it as a liquid ingredient. I use the wheat gluten even though it's listed as optional, but not the raisins. I cut the total water to 1.5 cups instead of 2. I also typically need more rise time than the recipe calls for and gt a better result if I can make the time to lunch down the dough and give it a second rise before I braid it. Overall this recipe is a winner even among people who don't usually eat whole wheat. For the Cheryl Ann's fans out there, this is less sweat than Cheryl Ann's but just as moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I used 1/4 C honey and 5 Tbsp olive oil, omitted the raisins, and included the wheat gluten. It turned out great! The color of the loaves is gorgeous, and they have a fine crumb with a medium texture-- not too dense, not too light. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
amazing challah!! we used sugar instead of honey. its awesome!! even our white floured guests loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States