Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my very first time baking a pecan pie and it was perfect. This recipe is not over-overpoweringly sweet which is why I liked it so well. I did make a mistake by including too many pecans in the pie. I placed pecans on the bottom, sides, and the top so the filling was over powered by the pecans. When I bake it again, and I will, I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this pie first yesterday for Thanksgiving. After pulling it from the oven, I realized I had left out the melted butter in the filling by accident. I was very concerned about how it would make the pie turn out so I ended up tasting it last night. I'm so glad I did! This was very dense...too many nuts...and I only used the 1/2 cup of finely crushed and the 1 cup of chopped pecans. I don't know that the missing butter would make that big of a difference, but I was not happy with this one. Ended making another pie, using a different recipe and I was very happy with that one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Good, but not great. I would reduce the cooking time by about 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I first rated this 4 stars but since changed it to 3. Flavor was good but there were too many nuts. Also the pie became quite runny and nobody liked it the next day. Will try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
i had to use a pillsbury crust cause this was my first attempt (not pretty), but OMG, this pie is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this tonight and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I added 1 tsp of vanilla, roasted the pecans for 10min. I only added pecans to the top. Pie should sit for a day for the flavors to blend. Pie wasn't ooey gooey or sickeningly sweet like the usual pecan pie, loved it! Next time, will either add a 1Tbs of flour or cooking the filling on the stove to see if there's a difference in flavor/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I am not a fan of pecan pie, but my fiancee' is. I made this recipe for him and well he stated it's the best he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was sooooo yummy and sweet.....I did read the reviews, and only used about a cup of chopped pecans, and they were perfect!! Mine cooked for about 70 mins. and the crust was a bit overdone, but who cares?!?! It's pecan pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I just won a bake-off for our company picnic using this recipe as my base! I did tweak it by adding 1 tsp vanilla, a bit more butter, 1 shot of Jack Daniels and 1/2 shot of Kaluha , a sprinkling of cocoa powder and some corn starch for the extra liquid. My husband is a Southerner and loves my pie! As well as my boss, who's family owns a soul food restaurant. She had requested her own pie to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States