Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I have been baking pecan pie for years and I have a couple suggestions.1 please add vanilla to your base. It is nessesary.2 I think you will fall in love with pecan pie all over again if you use a teaspoon of cinnamon in the filling. 3 Try using a shortcake cookie crust instead of the traditional. Keep this crust moist as it will cook for 40-45 min when you bake the pie. You may also put a cookie sheet under the pie to reduce the chance of an over cooked crust.4 the last tip. If you find that your pecan pie is a bit sticky instead of having a slightly firm body add one Table spoon of all purpose flour to your base or filling mixture. I hope that these tips are helpful!! Try them you will be in for a real Treat!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
712 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
First of all, the crust was awful, and the filling lacked something: VANILLA! I made it again using my own pie crust recipe and added 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla. I also omitted the finely chopped pecans, because it just seemed unnecessary. The result was FABULOUS! Not too sweet and lots of nuts, just right. I gave it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe!! I've never made a pecan pie before, and it was wonderfully easy. After one test trial, I decided to follow a few of the reviewers hints - I added a tablespoon of flour, two teaspoons of vanilla extract, and a sprinkling of cinnamin to the filling for a wonderful flavor, and to stop the pie from getting too gooey. It will be a wonderful addition to our Thanksgiving table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
For brown sugar lovers, the original recipe is great, but I tried it with white sugar, doubled the recipe,added three extra tbsp melted butter,one egg yolk, and only put pecans on the top. OH MY GOODNESS IT WAS FABULOUS! I'm so excited to have this recipe among my collection! My whole family went crazy. Oh, I also covered top with tinfoil after 30 minutes of baking so the top wouldn't scorch. I, unfortunatelly am forced to use an electric oven that has a heat coil. This coil has murdered many a meal at my house. So, for any of you who have the same kind of evil electric oven, tinfoil can save you too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Wonderful pie! I had to make 2 pecan pies so after reading the many reviews, I decided to try one pie according to the recipe and one with the flour, vanilla and cinnamon additions. Both pies tasted very good. I did prefer the pie with flour added because I personally don't like a pecan pie to drip with syrup as the one without flour did. The vanilla was a great touch. I didn't find the cinnamon to be necessary though. I sure did like all the extra pecans this recipe calls for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Don't forget to put your pan on the lower level of your oven or the pecans will burn, or cover the pie halfway through baking. It was very good and the pecans were enough on top to make a nice circular design. I tried without the crushed pecans and it was too liquid, while with all the pecans it was perfect. I did add 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 1 T flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is such a perfect pecan pie recipe! I have found the recipe to stick with. I'll just tweak it a bit with chocolate chips or dried fruit if I ever feel like a slightly different taste. I made it because I liked how the other reviewers pointed out how nutty it came out. I don't like too much pale colored, sloppy "goo". I used dark corn syrup because I like the filling a little richer. Instead of placing the plain pecan halves on top, I mixed them in a sauce pan with honey, butter and brown sugar. I put the honey crunch mixture on top during the last 15 minutes of cooking. I highly recommend doing that. Everyone died for it--so amazing! Thanks Ingrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBLASSNIG
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Truly Irresistible!! I couldn't find any dark corn syrup in my grocery store, so I substituted for maple syrup... so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIEA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was so delicious. The crust is a sturdy, flavorful one that melds perfectly w/the filling - just as pecan pie should. I've never had a pecan pie that was so nutty! Wonderful! Its all about the pecans. My family used to make one w/bourbon, so I added a splash of bourbon to the filling along w/ a pinch of FRESHLY grated nutmeg. This just heightened the flavors and gave some complexity. I also used my food processor to make the dough and it still came out PERFECTLY. Thanks so much for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is the best pecan pie I have ever had, let alone made myself. Because I'm horrible at making pie crust, I used a frozen pillsbury crust and put this filling in. I can only imagine a homemade crust would make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States