Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I love this recipe and have been making this pie for a couple of years now. I generally follow the recipe and get rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhoneycutt
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was very good. Store was out of Whole pecans so i ended up using all chopped pecans and crushed some up for the finely. also did take the recommendation and added some vanilla. other than that followed the recipe and had an excellent pecan Pie !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving with my boyfriend's family and it was divine! Per other reviewers I added a tablespoon of flour to the corn syrup mixture and omitted the bottom layer of pecans, just to try things out. It was great! Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the third Thanksgiving in a row that this has been our pecan pie recipe. It is so wonderful. Everyone loves it. Gooey. Rich. Tastes great. Thanks, IHART44!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wonderful! I followed others' advice and added 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla & 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also added 1 tbs of flour to thicken the filling but next time I think I will add less...I prefer the filling to be in between gooey & solid. I also used a Pillsbury pie crust to save time (don't forget to flour it!). Loved the taste! Rave reviews from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
AWESOME all the pecans in the goo is wonderful; everyone LOVED it. I used my own pie crust recipe but followed everything else in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Obviously, there are way too many pecans, but the amount written might just have been a mistake. Another problem was the butter. There was way too much butter. I would suggest using about two tablespoons less butter because mine was so "buttery" it drooled out of the crust and burnt the bottom of the oven. Aside from that, it had great flavor but it was the texture of pudding with a lot of pecans thrown in. I'm really sorry, I'm sure for some people this is really good but it just didn't work for me. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Yummy, see recipe changes, added tsp vanilla and tbl spoon of flour and left out chopped pecans for filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It was a Thanksgiving hit! I did as others suggested and added flour and vanilla to the filling. I also only used one 2 cup bag of whole pecans and chopped up part of the bag for the "quartered" pecans and chopped some up even more for the "finely crushed". I doubt I had more than 1/2 cup for the whole pecans on the top, but it was still great. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
LOVE this pecan pie recipe! It's about as close as my mom's that I've been unable to find. I've made this several times, and after doing it a couple times, I don't use any crushed or quartered pecans. I just use 2 cups of whole pecans, and I mix that into the syrup mixture, because all the pecans, crushed or not, rise to the top when baking anyway, so all that work and arranging is rather pointless. Also, for the people who have had problems with the pecans on top burning, it's because they have no protection - if you do like the recipe does, then save a few tablespoons of the mixture to drizzle over the top - this will prevent them from burning. (The first time I made it, I didn't do that, and they burned, too.) Or just mix them all in like I do - it's SO much easier, super quick to make, and every year around the holidays, people love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States