Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The whole family LOVES this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Pomponio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by nygirlatheart
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I wanted to make a pie from scratch, for a very long time. My husbands favorite pie is pecan pie and we brought back fresh pecans from a road trip we took to South Carolina. I was not sure if it would have been enough fresh pecans so I also used store bought unshelled pecans (you can taste the difference). The recipe and video was very easy to follow and my crust didn't turn out too bad. The only thing I would say it didn't take an hour to cook. I actually had to take it out after 50 minutes and probably should have taken it out at around 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Perfect. I like my pie on the nutty side rather than too sweet/gooey, and this recipe gives a good balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zangaro
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I did try yesterday from Switzerland and exchange Corn syrup (because we don't have) with agave syrup and it was VERY VERY good.. not as beautiful that yours and maybe a bit too cook (don't know well my oven) I will do better next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My husband had been harrassing me about a pecan pie all year...he LOVED this one! I made a pretty pattern on them also. I used regular size pie crust and was able to make 2 pies...I used the flour like others had suggested, and they came out BEAUTIFULLY! I didn't have any dark corn syrup so I used some maple syrup. Please watch the video, it's super helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Tasty but I would prefer more of the caramel goo (pie filling). Will make more goo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I added vanilla to the filling, and I cooked the filling on the stovetop so I could use it in prebaked tart shells. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Excellent pecan pie! I used a Pillsbury pie crust, so I can't comment on the crust, but the filling was amazing. Maybe it would be better with vanilla, but I had no complaints. I love all the pecans. This was the best pecan pie recipe I've used, and I've tried a few from this site. This pecan pie wasn't overly sweet, which is amazing for a pecan pie, even I liked it and I don't like pecan pie. I made this recipe as written. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I read the other reviews and made a few adjustments to the original recipe: I roasted the pecans, cut them into 1/4s and mixed these in with the wet ingredients - I added 11/2 tsp vanilla to the wet stuff. I then laid another cup of roasted whole pecans on the top of the pie in a pretty pattern before baking. I baked the pie on the bottom rack for 70 minutes, and there was no burning or drying out. It was delicious!! Roasting the nuts reduces the overly sweet, sugary taste that others complained about. I used my own pie crust recipe, so I cannot comment on the crust. A ready made pie crust would work just fine as the juices from the pie center are sweet and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States