Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Add at least a 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of salt and it won't be so sweet. Salt brings out the caramel flavor. I always taste the filling-bad, I know, since it has raw eggs, but I use fresh eggs and have never had a problem. Also bake on a preheated cookie sheet and the crust will be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this on Thanksgiving and i have only made Pecan pies about 5 or 6 times. this was indeed without a doubt the best pecan Pie i have ever tasted and i come from a family of 12. My mom was the best cook but i never tasted a pecan pie this good in my life. If you don't try it you're crazy. make sure you roast the pecans. I used more than the recipe called for (personal preference) and it was fantastic...Try it, it's too easy and good to be true. oh and there was no messy syrup the entire time of it's survival( which wasn't long)...LOL enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is the best recipe I've found for pecan pie. The description "irrestible" is definitely a true statement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Helena, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I didn't make the crust, but the filling was great. Next time I would not add vanilla as others suggested-it didn't seem right. However, I added a T of flour and a bit of cinnamon, and those tips were much appreciated. I'm not sure what the filling would have been like without the flour, but mine was nice and firm-the slices were beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was a very good pie. I added a tablespoon of flour, as some readers recommended, and I'm glad I did. I like pecan pie to be firmer rather than runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I thought this pie was very good but like other suggested, it did need some vanilla in it. Just note that this is a very rich pie. I still have 1/2 of it at home because our family could only eat 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Awesome- but certainly not for the "I don't love sweets" types! My five stars are based on the following amendments taken from other reviewers: - I added a few hearty dashes of cinnamon and 1 tablespoon of vanilla - I added 1 tablespoon of flour to the filling - I substituted the dark Karo for 1 tablespoon of molasses (only because I had no dark Karo). The result was fabulous. I used a store-bought pie crust and I didn't bother to arrange the pecans in a dainty pattern. I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
made this pie for thanksgiving and everyone really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wonderful! I added a few T of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KREBECKY
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Huge hit at thanksgiving. Best pecan pie i ever had!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States