Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
IT IS OK DONT LIKE THE WAY IT LOOKS I THINK ITS TOO MUCH CORN SYRUP, I ADDED A LIL BIT MORE SALT FOR FLAVOR AND VANILLA. AS FOR THE CRUST I MADE A STANDARD PECAN CRUST HOPE IT DOESNT COOK TOO FAST IF IT ENDS UP COMING OUT THAT PHOTO UP THERE I WILL BE IN GOOD SHAPE,ITS FOR MY MOM FOR MOTHERS DAY SNACKING AND TO ALL OF U HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL!! SUGA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
My mom had me make a pecan pie for thanksgiving. Normally, I am a pumpkin-pie-only kind of girl, but I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wonderful! My family has a huge appetite for dessert and this was a huge hit. It is something I get many requests for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Zoidis Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Awesome base recipe! I added 2 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 Tbsp. flour and substituted cane syrup for the corn syrup. It came out wonderful! I guess the pecan pies they used to make in the good old days didn't have all the flavorings we have grown so accustomed to nowadays, so the recipe is correct, but it needs some tweaking according to everybody's taste and preference. Note: I didn't use the crust recipe noted here, so I have no idea how that comes out -- I have my own crust recipe and only use that when I make my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mewgirl
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
First off, Way to nutty. I only used a total of 1 3/4 cups of pecans, and it was still to nutty for us. Other than that, it was alright. I changed the crust a little. I added a pinch of cinnamon and replaced the butter with shortening, and then for the filling I also added cinnamon and vanilla with less corn syrup and more brown sugar. My only complaints are the crust and amount of nuts. My crust was fine, but I have made crusts like that before and I couldn't stand them. They need a little flavor. I guess I also just like my pies to be really moist and not as nutty, so thats my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mewgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Not what I am used to but so much better! I hate pie, especially gooey pie but this was delish. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyshrimp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fantastic, but with changes! Add vanilla 1 1/2 tsp and just a touch of cinnamon. And I only did one 1 cup of quartered pecans mixed in the batter. Will make again and again with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I don't know why people are complaining about no vanilla. It tastes fine just as it is. I didn't have time to make a crust so just used a store bought one & didn't use the crushed pecans because I thought it would be too much pecan. I loved the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is my go to pecan pie recipe. I did as other reviewers suggested...add egg yolk, add more butter and vanilla. Also- I don't add the whole pecans on top- just a few for decoration. It gets great reviews everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States