Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I loved this recipe. I don't like raisins in baked goods, so this was perfect for me. The bread was moist and tasted wonderful. It's great for toasting or even to make a sandwich with. I followed the directions to a "T". Even waited to eat it after wrapping in foil for a couple hours. I'll make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very delicious and moist! I doubled the butter and instead of melting it I cut it into small pieces and worked it into the flour mixture with my fingers before adding the buttermilk. If you don't have buttermilk on hand just add 2 T of lemon juice or vinegar to milk and let it sit until thick (about 10 minutes). This was my first time making Irish Soda Bread and I will certainly be making it many times again using this recipe. It was great paired with my Dublin Coddle dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A lovely bread, for sure, that's easy to make, moist, delicately flavored and pretty to boot. And a bread, for sure, I wouldn't hesitate to make again. Still, it was just a tad too sweet for me, which is no criticism of the recipe, just an individual taste preference. For Hubs, on the other hand, it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by nikki ruiz
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have never made this before. I read reviews and after bread is in the pan I let it sit for 30 mins at room temp before I baked it. I only baked mine for 62 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yum, yum! I made per recipe letting bread rest for 30 mins before baking. I brushed the top with melted butter before, half way through and when I removed it from the oven. I made two loaves and they were quickly eaten. Very moist with a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
For years I have tried different Irish soda bread recipes in an attempt to replicate the wonderful bread my Irish grandmother used to make. But, they all came out too dry. When I saw the high ratio of buttermilk to flour in this recipe, I decided to give it a try. I substituted a cup of whole wheat flour for one of the cups of all-purpose flour and decreased the sugar to 2 tablespoons (else I though it would be too sweet). When it was done cooking I turned off the oven and let it sit for an additional 10 minutes to get a nice, crunchy crust. The bread was delicious. Not as dry as most recipes, not too sweet (given my alteration) and with a crunchy, nutty crust. I also dusted the pan with a little cornmeal after buttering it, as I think my grandmother used to do that. This was perfect and my family is loving it whether or not it is 'authentic.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I thought I didn't like Irish soda bread until I made this delicious recipe. This bread is moist and tasty and even better with butter and tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthCoachCarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I added raisins and let the batter rest for 25 minutes before baking. The raisins fell to the bottom while baking but the flavor was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this four times now and it comes out fantastic. So easy! You can also add raisins to your personal taste - I used 1/2 cup dark raisins and 1/2 cup golden raisins. The only criticism I have is that when I baked it in the 9 x 5 loaf pan as specified, the batter puffed up too high and spilled out - fortunately I noticed and slid a cookie sheet underneath to catch the goo! After that I used a slightly larger loaf pan, 10 x 6, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this bread this afternoon and LOVE it. It is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States