Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made the recipe exactly as described and it is delish! Never made soda bread before but this was super easy and I had all the ingredients on hand. Next time I will take the advice of another reviewer and add raisins but overall- super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This came out like a sweet quick bread. Think banana bread without the bananas. I'm used to soda bread that's more of a savory bread, that's a dough not a batter bread. This was okay for a quick bread, but not for a soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Love it! Compliments corned beef nicely. Airy and yet dense, Moist, Sweet but not to sweet. Everyone in my house loves this bread. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was just not what I was looking for. It comes out VERY cakey, almost a cornbread texture, not really bready at all. It was very easy to make though. Thank you anyway for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glowiie
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Tastes a lot like a biscuit! I followed the directions exactly, and it's a pretty tasty bread, though I wasn't expecting it to be so biscuit-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This recipe is SO EASY!!! I make it year round. Turns out great every time. Great for beginning bread makers and experts alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
THIS IS NOT THE TRADITIONAL IRISH SODA BREAD (WHERE YOU SHAPE IT YOURSELF - NO PAN) BUT ITS DELICIOUS. I USED DRIED CRANBERRIES INSTEAD OF RAISINS (1 1/2 CUP) FOR CHRISTMAS AND ALSO SOME ORANGE RIND FOR COLOR AND FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Brandes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
IRISH soda bread DOES NOT have raisins. Brack, scones or other sweet cakes/breads do, but plain old (white or brown) soda bread does NOT. Stop messing with her recipe, it's absolutely perfect. One tip to keep from over-kneading is that when the dough feels like your earlobe, it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This makes a nice looking loaf with a crisp crust and absolutely NO FLAVOR. The texture is all wrong. It is more like a chewy cake-bread than the dry, dense and crusty round loaf that is traditional Irish soda bread. Toasting it doesn't even make it better. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Great recipe, we serve it with our Irish Stew on St. Patrick's Day. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States