Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Wow! This was fantastic. All I did was decrease the sugar EVER so slightly so it had just a hint of sweetness. Read a tip that proved quite good. After putting the batter into the pan, let it sit for 30 min. before placing in the oven to allow the chemical reactions to occur. Wrap in foil as directed. Moist, flavorful and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
It is my 3rd time making this quick bread. Very easy to make and tasty. I added about 1/2 cup of golden raisins to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was incredibly delicious! It smelled wonderful while it was cooking and tasted so good. I used kefir instead of buttermilk and accidently added a little too much butter. I also used wheat flour instead of white flour. It was very crumbly, but very moist. We unanimously voted to replace this recipe with our other Irish bread recipe that we have been using for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made the recipe exactly as described and it is delish! Never made soda bread before but this was super easy and I had all the ingredients on hand. Next time I will take the advice of another reviewer and add raisins but overall- super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This came out like a sweet quick bread. Think banana bread without the bananas. I'm used to soda bread that's more of a savory bread, that's a dough not a batter bread. This was okay for a quick bread, but not for a soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Love it! Compliments corned beef nicely. Airy and yet dense, Moist, Sweet but not to sweet. Everyone in my house loves this bread. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was just not what I was looking for. It comes out VERY cakey, almost a cornbread texture, not really bready at all. It was very easy to make though. Thank you anyway for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glowiie
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Tastes a lot like a biscuit! I followed the directions exactly, and it's a pretty tasty bread, though I wasn't expecting it to be so biscuit-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My fellow site members, as an Irish lady, I have to let you know that authentic Irish Soda bread is made with the following ingredients: Flour, Salt, Baking Soda, Buttermilk. That is it. What you are making when you add eggs, caraway seeds, raisins, etc. is called Spotted Dog, which is considered more of a cake, not bread. Of course, everyone should make and eat whatever they enjoy the most. Just felt I needed to set the record straight on this. Happy St. Patrick's Day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This recipe is SO EASY!!! I make it year round. Turns out great every time. Great for beginning bread makers and experts alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States