Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Really great bread. Having no buttermilk, I soured some skim milk with vinegar (1T vinegar to 1C milk). Light, easy to slice, great texture. Went great with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this as recipe stated and it turned out fantastic! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Fantastic! My family loved it and it was uber easy to make. Was the perfect compliment to our corned beef and cabbage :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made St Paddy's Day 2011 ... - this is the best ever! I added a handful or so of raisins. After mixing I put this into a 8.5" springform pan that I had lightly buttered and lined the bottom with parchment paper.. As per someones suggestion I let it sit for half an hour before putting it into the oven. It rose a lot in the pan and stayed high the whole time. It was absolutely tasty, not crumbly or sodden ... had to put butter on each slice to keep it from floating away! It went well with a glass of Guiness! Perfect match to the corned beef dinner. Thanks to Karin for posting it! It is my new "heirloom" recipe! Wish I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this with the help of two 3-year-olds during a play date on St. Patrick's Day. It was fantastic! It reminds me of a dense version of corn bread. It was moist, yet sweet and delicious. I had to make my own buttermilk using lowfat milk and vinegar, and I had to substitute Smart Balance butter because I didn't realize I was out of regular butter until we had already started. Neither substitution seemed to have a detrimental effect. This recipe was extraordinarily simple and delicious. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by artsyqt44
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is the first time I've ever made Irish soda bread and I used this recipe and can I say, OMG it was so good!!!! We ate it very shortly after in came out of the oven it was so yummy with butter that just melted right into it and I drizzled a little bit of honey on my slice and it was like biting into heaven. I made the recipe as called for and it does not need any changes whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artsyqt44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I give this a 4 out of 5 but I am not quite finished with the bread yet. I didn't have buttermilk around and haven't really used it in baking before so i through in a half tsp of vanilla with regular milk. I guess I should have looked up buttermilk substitute before I made it though bc I have lemon extract. I also increased the sugar some to make it sweeter. I'm also surprised to see that no one else had said this in the comments I read, but I added green food coloring to make this a real st. patty's day bread! I wonder how the bread is going to come out. I'll let you all know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsCrystallia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Antelope, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was my first attempt at making soda bread and I ended up making 2 loaves and everyone at work loved it!!! I also added about a 1/2 cup of raisins to each mix and let them sit about 30 mins before baking. Will definitely make this every year going forward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was excellent. I did not refrigerate before baking, did not have it stand. Right into the oven. Great taste and so versatile. I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1 cup currants. Yummmmoooo! Will make again and try with optional minced dry cherries or 1/2 tsp. almond extract or chocolate chips or walnuts. Very versatile recipe and absolutely scumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Came out great, so easy! I followed another persons tip and let it sit for 30 minutes before putting in oven, Yhanks. next time will try with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States