Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Just made this and it is fabulous. I divided the batter (looks a lot like cake batter not dough) between two smaller loaf pans. I put raisins in one half and left out of the other. They baked in about 30 minutes which would mean the recipe bake time for one large loaf is right on target. Soft interior with a nice tender outer crust. One reviewer said they were similar to a muffin and I would agree. We spread whipped butter on it while it was hot. Awesome! This is the only recipe I will use from now on. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I searched many recipes; this is the best!!!Moist and tasty;I used whole wheat flower, added raisins and caraway seeds; my friends not only enjoyed my cornbeef and cabbage but loved the bread;!!I sent each home with a loaf!!Friends at OTB said it was the best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I make this for our church's Wednesday Night's meal. I calculate it for 65 using more buttermilk and butter so that I can bake it in 2 huge flat cookie pans. That way I can cut it into bars. Then I rub melted butter over it!!! Delicious and a huge hit!!! Leftovers stay moist!!! Love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grenada, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Weaverville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Traditional or not, this bread received rave reviews at our St. Patrick's Day meal. It is similar in texture to a muffin---soft, yet substantial. I did not add raisins, but that is up to the individual. Very easy to prepare! I recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this & a different recipe for Irish Soda Bread yesterday. This one is so much better! I can eat it just plain it's so tasty! Thank you for a wonderful & simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this once. And then I made it nine more times. Friends and family drop not-so-subtle hints when they're ready for their next slice. Serves up beautifully with sweet and savory dishes and is utterly easy to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is the 2nd time I have made this bread, goes perfect with soup or salad. I served it with corned beef cabbage. Family loved it. Would not change recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is wonderful. I let it set in the loaf pan for 30 min to let it rise a bit before baking on the second loaf. both ways is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was very good and my family liked it, but I am giving it four stars because it did not taste like my idea of traditional Irish Soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was easy to do, took only one bowl to mix up, and was delicious. Would make it again. Not too sweet. Buttermilk flavor is subtle especially a few hours after it's made. Nice accompaniment to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States