Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Perfect recipe as is! This was a perfect accent to our slow cooker corn beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Vecchio Irwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A hit with our corned-beef and cabbage dinner! Easy to make; I confused two recipes and turned this out on to a floured surface, kneaded some more flour in and shaped it in to a rough, country-bread style loaf. It was fantastic this way. (Though if you try it, don't expect it to knead well, it's very loose as dough, almost batter-like. Just use additional flour - enough so it doesn't stick to everything, and mold with your hands.) I baked it on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Made it just as written-- not too bland and not too sweet. Dense without being heavy-delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I will start by saying that I made both this recipe and the Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread recipe. Both highly rated and both lived up the hype. I did add raisins to both as it seemed traditionally correct, having said that I'm no expert on Irish Soda Bread tradition. I followed the recipes as listed with one exception. I baked on a tad bit lower heat and baked for a tad bit longer. Not sure what some posters meant when they said it didn't turn out good. I'm no baker, but these 2 recipes have to be as easy as it gets. Gave them both 4 stars as they both came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is awful! It tastes like pancakes baked in a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
i was so happy to find a recipe that did not add raisins! most soda bread recipes are much more sweet than traditional irish soda bread - i have reduced the sugar in this recipe but its just as good with the 1/3 cup. this goes together quickly, and you can substitute 2 tbsp. lemon juice and enough milk to make 2 cups for the buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So yummy. I made this for an Irish Soda Bread day at work, and people devoured it. It's like a treat you'd get at a find and breakfast. Even better with golden raisins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious! I added a cup of raisins that I soaked in the buttermilk for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I don't care what you call it; we love this recipe. Since my DH doesn't like sweet things, I just cut the sugar in half. I don't like raisins which makes it perfect for me. Love the texture and ease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States