Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My family really liked this bread. It was moist and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I know this is supposed to be a very simple, dense bread, but it still didn't turn out the greatest. The picture shows a vivid white loaf, but I ended up with a yellow, cornbread-looking loaf, and the texture left something to be desired. It also took much longer to bake than the recipe called for (At least another 25-30 minutes, if I recall correctly). It tasted just okay, and I didn't have trouble eating the whole loaf by myself (I live alone), but I don't think I would make this again. For best taste, spread some preserves or jam on it. Spreading some butter on it was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I saw Irish Soda Bread on a Julia Child show on PBS, and it looked so easy, I thought I would try it! This bread is delicious...honestly the dough has a very thick consistency that tasted like pancake batter (yum) and the end result reminded me of a cornbread consistency. I hope that's what it's supposed to be like! (haha) Bottom line, this is a very quick, very easy bread..even my boyfriend liked it and he's not a bread guy. I will definatley make this again!!! P.S. I did let the dough sit at room temp for 30 minutes, before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I'm from Greece, so I don't know whether this the original Irish soda bread or not, but I really liked it. The only reason I'm giving it 4 out 5 stars is because I've changed a couple of things to suit my family's tastes, so I don't know what the original recipe would taste like. We wanted it to be like a cake, so I've used one cup of sugar and added some raisins and chopped dried appricots...It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was so good and so easy! I didn't change a thing. Just let it sit for 30 minutes before baking. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! So easy and so yummy. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Super easy and delicious. I've never made this before and the recipe is a keeper. I served this with Irish lamb stew and it was a perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Tasty, but very cake-like. It was like cornbread without the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
We love this bread and make it exactly as the recipe reads. I am Italian/Jewish and finally made a Irish Soda bread my Irish husband loves! Thank you Karen for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tennga, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States