Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have no idea if this bread is authentic or not, but the taste fit perfectly with the corned beef and cabbage meal. Didn't even need butter. I made as directed -- the evening before -- and wrapped in aluminum foil overnight. I can't speak to recommendations that it needs raisins because I hate raisins in bread -- Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Perfect recipe as is! This was a perfect accent to our slow cooker corn beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Vecchio Irwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A hit with our corned-beef and cabbage dinner! Easy to make; I confused two recipes and turned this out on to a floured surface, kneaded some more flour in and shaped it in to a rough, country-bread style loaf. It was fantastic this way. (Though if you try it, don't expect it to knead well, it's very loose as dough, almost batter-like. Just use additional flour - enough so it doesn't stick to everything, and mold with your hands.) I baked it on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Made it just as written-- not too bland and not too sweet. Dense without being heavy-delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I will start by saying that I made both this recipe and the Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread recipe. Both highly rated and both lived up the hype. I did add raisins to both as it seemed traditionally correct, having said that I'm no expert on Irish Soda Bread tradition. I followed the recipes as listed with one exception. I baked on a tad bit lower heat and baked for a tad bit longer. Not sure what some posters meant when they said it didn't turn out good. I'm no baker, but these 2 recipes have to be as easy as it gets. Gave them both 4 stars as they both came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is awful! It tastes like pancakes baked in a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
i was so happy to find a recipe that did not add raisins! most soda bread recipes are much more sweet than traditional irish soda bread - i have reduced the sugar in this recipe but its just as good with the 1/3 cup. this goes together quickly, and you can substitute 2 tbsp. lemon juice and enough milk to make 2 cups for the buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So yummy. I made this for an Irish Soda Bread day at work, and people devoured it. It's like a treat you'd get at a find and breakfast. Even better with golden raisins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious! I added a cup of raisins that I soaked in the buttermilk for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States