Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
If you do not have buttermilk you may use 1 tablespoon of vinegar for each cup of milk. This recipes was very easy to make and delicious. I did not need to make any adjustments, perfect the way it is. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I am not a fan of raisins so I added craisins. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Nice and moist, much like Pampered Chef beer bread. I added raisins to half which was good, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made only one loaf. It was not enough, this bread went very quickly with 4 adults and 6 boys ages 18 to 2. LOVE this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimKim
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Second year in a row I am making this and its amazing. Very moist and easy to make! Tastes even better when you add raisins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimKim
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for St Pat's day and it's delicious and SO easy to make. I am a very novice bread baker so I followed the instructions exactly. The loaf is almost gone and the bread is delicious with orange marmalade or cinnamon butter on it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Else10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was super easy and tasted wonderful! It was enjoyed by all age groups :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is NOT a traditional Irish soda bread because it has sugar, eggs, and butter, and traditional bread has only four ingredients: flour, buttermilk, salt, and soda. However, this is an amazing bread. I have searched for ten years or better to find a soda bread (traditional or not) that all my kids like, and that balances the traditional flavor with a bit of richness. This is it. I did make one tiny change, which I think really added some character to it. No, I did not add raisins, as they are strictly forbidden in Irish soda bread, but when it came to stirring in the melted butter, I stirred in half, then poured the batter into my pan, and poured the other half all over the top of the bread before I baked it. The crust came out buttery rich and delicious while the crumb is soft, only slightly sweet, and is very rich tasting. The BEST soda bread I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Simple and fabulous. I added golden raisins and it added just a yummy sweetness. It's moist and has a great texture. Great with coffee or and afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Cooked many new first for this Saint Patrick's day and everyone loved this bread recipe. Hubby loved this more than the chocolate mint brownies. Seeing that his sweet tooth is huge and the brownies were delicious as well, we will be having this again many times. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States