Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
It's hard to believe these are whole grain and low in fat! I love how healthy these are! My husband will love these for his mid morning snack. I didn't have a few of the ingredients so I made some substitutions: I used coarsely ground oats for the wheat germ, 1 Tbsp. lemon juice plus milk to equal 1 cup for the buttermilk, and 1 cup regular chocolate chips for the 1/2 cup minis. Then I added some raw sugar on top for some crunchiness. Right out of the oven they stuck to the paper, so next time I will probably just grease the pan well and skip the paper liners. I got 18 regular-size muffins out of this recipe. And if you're wondering about the cinnamon, use it! It's not a real dominant flavor, instead it just enhances the chocolate flavor. Thanks for this recipe, I will likely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made these nearly according to the instructions (I omitted the cinnamon and did not use any white sugar, I believe I used agave nectar), and they came out dense and a bit chewy. At first I wasn't sure why, but a few baking experiments (I bake a lot) helped me figure it out. Flax seeds, ground, are an egg replacement. They work wonderfully, but not understanding their properties and using too much is going to result in this heavier texture. I recommend omitting the egg, and reducing the flax seeds to about 1 tbsp. (with 3 tbsp. water). Make up about 3/4 cup with either whole wheat (finely ground) or whole spelt flour. This should produce a lighter, fluffier muffin that is still healthy. I am going to try to work with this recipe some more to see what I can come up with. It's a good start, just misunderstands some ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These are great!! I did not have flax seed so after some research decided to replace with whole wheat flour and thank goodness they worked out wonderfully with nice round tops!! My son who is the pickiest eater on the planet with many food aversions, LOVES THESE!! And they are healthy.. By the way I went and bought the ground flax seed for when I make them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
OMG, these are FANTASTIC. I can't believe that they are full of whole wheat and hidden pumpkin. They are out of control delicious. UPDATE: Made them again last night, using bran instead of the wheat germ and they were just as delicious. These are hands-down my new favourite "healthy" muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I just made these this afternoon. My family can't believe how delicious they are. They are extremely healthy. Instead of pumpkin puree I added 1 cup of apple sauce. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly...they cooked up between 10-15 minutes. thank you for the recipe it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
AMAZING MUFFINS! I was craving chocolate muffins from Sweet Tomatoes, and so I was looking through recipes. I decided to try this one because I don't eat anything "unhealthy", so I don't use AP flour etc. I halved this recipe, used half brown & half evaporated cane sugar. Subbed buttermilk for 1/2 cup soymilk & 2 tsp. Apple cider vinegar. I also recommend people to get chocolate chips that have a 60%-70% cocoa content if you want that ooey gooey yummy chocoholic yummyness we all want sometimes. Just roughly chop them up and throw them in with the dry ingredients. I also used 1/3 of the cinnamon that was posted, and I think it made a difference in the batter. I also used greek yogurt instead of pumpkin puree, since I didn't have it on hand. I LOVE THIS RECIPE! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My oldest son and I made these together this morning. We both had a good ol' time. He made the recipe as is and was quite meticulous at making sure we measured the right amount and used the right ingredients. We didn't have mini-chips, so we used regular chocolate chips. I wisked the dry ingredients together until smooth, then tossed the chips in the dry. We added the combined wet ingredients and used the spatula to fold in the wet until everything was just moistened. That made a really fluffy muffin. My son thought the sugar crystals on the top were a great idea, so we sprinkled a little Sugar in the Raw on top of the muffins before baking. Really, REALLY good. Especially with a cup of hot coffee. All but three are gone. We really enjoyed these. I do think that when we make these again, I would cut back on the cinnamon just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Cole
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Definitely the most delicious healthy muffin I've ever made. It isn't overly sweet, so the chocolate chips are definitely key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Love these! Will be keeping a supply of these in the freezer. Extremely picky toddler likes them and I don't feel bad letting him have these chocolate muffins for breakfast or snack because they're so healthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
My kids are wild for these muffins -- they brag to their friends that their mom lets them have chocolate muffins for breakfast. I usually tweak recipes after making them the first time but this one is great just as it is. These are delicious muffins that I can feel good serving to everyone. Many thanks to fiestaqueen for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States