Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
These muffins are good, but I wouldn't call them irresistible. My kids and nieces took a couple bites, but didn't finish off their muffins. For a healthy muffin, I'd rather make the makeover morning glory muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I accidentally added a full cup of pumpkin. But it didn't seem to matter. They were nice and moist. This recipe made exactly 36 mini muffins. They were perfect at 15 minutes. I did reduce the flax to 1/2 cup and the cinnamon to only 1 teaspoon. 1 tablespoon would have over-powered these. I used toasted wheat germ because that is what I had and prefer. These had a nice chocolate flavor and considering how healthy they are, I would probably make these again but maybe add a some instant coffee to intensify the chocolate flavor. I also made the chocolate muffins from the Fiber One cereal website. The recipes are amazingly similar. In comparing the two side by side, the Fiber One had better chocolate flavor but not as healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Fantastic! Healthy! I didn't have any chocolate chips so I used some caramel bits I had. Great idea! This batter made about 12 large muffins and 12 mini muffins with a bit left over that I haven't made yet. Mini muffins took 15 minutes to bake. The large ones took 20 minutes. Thanks for this recipe, it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
AMAZING MUFFINS! I was craving chocolate muffins from Sweet Tomatoes, and so I was looking through recipes. I decided to try this one because I don't eat anything "unhealthy", so I don't use AP flour etc. I halved this recipe, used half brown & half evaporated cane sugar. Subbed buttermilk for 1/2 cup soymilk & 2 tsp. Apple cider vinegar. I also recommend people to get chocolate chips that have a 60%-70% cocoa content if you want that ooey gooey yummy chocoholic yummyness we all want sometimes. Just roughly chop them up and throw them in with the dry ingredients. I also used 1/3 of the cinnamon that was posted, and I think it made a difference in the batter. I also used greek yogurt instead of pumpkin puree, since I didn't have it on hand. I LOVE THIS RECIPE! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made these this morning....soooooo delicious & moist! Very chocolatey too!!! Even my husband likes them! ( I didn't tell him of all the good things in them of course, or I'm sure he wouldn't have liked them ! ) I have put the recipe in our favorites, and will definitely make them again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was great. I did not have any whole wheat flour at the time so I used all white flour, but it still came out great. They have just the right amount of chocolate to sugar and the wheat germ gives them nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr-E

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great recipe. A little drier that traditional muffins, so my 2nd batch, I added a 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/8 cup oil. Also subtituted turbinado sugar for the brown sugar and sprinkled a little on top before baking. I think I will also try adding banana next time since canned pumpkin is scarce right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These muffins are very good...for being healthy muffins. I really liked them, but my three-year-old did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Tasty, but definitely had a different texture. I am hoping that toasting the wheat germ next time I make these will fix that. It was kind of like having bits of straw in my muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These muffins are very tasty. Since I didn’t have buttermilk, I subbed 1 tbsp white vinegar in a measuring cup and filled the rest with milk and let it set for a few minutes. I also used regular chocolate chips chopped smaller because I didn’t have minis. And what the heck, I made them triple chocolate muffins by doubling the chocolate chips to 1 cup - the more chocolate the merrier, right? These baked up nicely in only 13 minutes. These were still moist and yummy the next day! Now this is one baked good I don’t feel too guilty about eating! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States