Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I wonder by what definition makes this "healthy"? It has wheat, which is found to not be so "healthy" by some. It has milk and eggs that some feel are not so healthy, it has 2 kinds of chocolate and it has sugar! Does adding flax seed make it healthy? I gave it a 4 cause it's not fair to give it less just because my opinion is different on "what is healthy". Use applesauce instead of the milk. That would cut that part at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I added about a half cup of white sugar....I know it kind of ruins the whole health factor, but it really makes it taste good! Awesome way to sneak good stuff into a naughty package!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
These were very healthy and tasted good, but not great. I think the addition of a small amount of salt would make these a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I thought that these were very good. Especially being fairly healthy. With the holidays coming up I did add a small festive twist by folding in andes peppermint crunch chips and then putting whipped frosting on top w/ a few additional peppermint chips for good measure! Yum. I also added one container of lowfat yoplait very vanilla yogurt to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I have made these muffins twice now - and they are definitely worth all of the effort. The first time I made them, they were for my son's 4th birthday party. I was nervous about the texture being a bit too dense for passing as "cupcakes", so I used half all purpose flour and half whole wheat. I have always used apple sauce instead of pumpkin because I've never had any on hand. The second time I made them, I even made the apple sauce from scratch! These muffins are absolutely lovely. I'm grateful to have it in my box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
these are so yummy!!! No one would beleive me if I said there was no oil or butter and they were packed full of healthy stuff like flax seed and wheat germ. This is for sure a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I only made one substitution - almond flour for the flax meal, since that's what I had. These came out great! Both picky sons and my picky husband say the recipe is a keeper. I love having healthy breakfast options for them that they will actually eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Delicious and healthy! Never thought it was possible...Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I subbed ground oats for the wheat germ (didn't have any), kept everything the same except I didn't have choc chips. I think they definately need the choc chips, not sweet enough without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Made without the chocolate chips (didn't have any) and ended up with 13 muffins. It is dense, but I think the the texture is great. The nutritional benefits are awesome and an easy breakfast/snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States