Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious! The only change I made was using wheat bran rather than wheat germ. They taste like brownies with lots of moisture from the pumpkin (but a healthier texture than brownies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These are very good muffins considering how healthy they are. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe is good as is but it is very adaptable. I have made it several times, my favorite way is substituting applesauce for the pumpkin puree and soy milk for the buttermilk. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
so tasty, so healthy! i took these into work and no one could tell they were so healthy. I did change the choc chips to Dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent! Mine turned out super dark and luscious looking, and they tasted even better. Very chocolatey, moist and soft. I increased the pumpkin to 1 cup for moisture, and used an extra 1/4 cup of mini chips. The calories were still very reasonable (well under 300 calories). The whole grain taste/texture shines through in a very good way; if you only like white flour, you might not appreciate that, but I find it lovely. They somehow taste healthy *and* indulgent, and the calorie total is fantastic for something so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious -- had to make a few subs -- whole oat flour in place of the whole wheat, almond milk and one Tbsp vinegar for the buttermilk -- also left out the egg (vegan), used Hershey's special dark cocoa and broken up Bakers Semi Sweet Chocolate -- I love chocolate! Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I've made these twice now: the first time I followed the recipe with the one exception of using a half cup of ground almond meal rather than wheat germ (simply preference). They are pretty good for being a much healthier alternative to the normal chocolate muffin. I wouldn't make them as stated again, though, since I like my less healthy muffins too much. So, I changed up a few things and they still were a 3 star recipe in my book. I appreciate the health-oriented recipe and will keep these in mind if I can talk myself into eating healthier......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
these are absolutely delicious!!! I used wheat bran instead of germ and I love it. The pumpkin puree makes it nice and moist and they do satisfy the chocolate cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These are great! Just what I was looking for as a substitute for the chocolate muffins at the bakery that my kids love. They are a staple for us now. Have made with substitutions and turned out fine, but best with original recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newton
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made this recipe several times now and love it! However, I have modified it to make it better suit my husband's and my taste. Main problem from the original recipe I found was being too dry and hard. Here is what I modified: double the butter milk and chocolate chips. I used mini muffin pan and baked them for 15 minutes, and they came out so tender and perfect! Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States