Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This has to be the most decadent amazing muffins I've ever made. A definate keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These are great - they are exactly what the ingredients profess them to be; a chocolaty healthy(ish) muffin! I love that there is no oil in them, and lots of good heart healthy whole grains The mini chocolate chips are great to "discover" as you're enjoying the muffins. I followed ingredients exactly as written and baked 20 minutes and they came out great. Good for a breakfast treat or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I agree with another reviewer - too much flax made these really dense. Flavour was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Great healthy muffins! I substituted protein powder for some of the flour and did not use the chocolate chips and they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Just popped these out of the oven. First off I noticed since there is no oil they only needed to cook for about 15 minutes (my oven is accurate) good thing I checked them or they would have overcooked. Second, the flavor is pretty "blah". I made the recipe exactly as written, no changes except the cook time. I'm fairly shocked at the reviews calling these delicious, I notice many people changed the recipe so maybe that's what made them "delicious". For me, I made them as directed they are quite bland. I can't taste the cocoa at all so the only chocolate flavor you get is if you bite on a choc. chip. I do love that they are healthy and pretty moist so we will finish them up. Though after being on a calorie-conscious diet for several months I can think of other snacks that have alot more flavor for 237 calories or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
So good! Had rave reviews with everyone who tasted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittneyart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe was okay... Considering how healthy they were, they weren't that bad. The pumpkin added a lot of moisture. I added double the chocolate chips to make them sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I had to use a sweet potato instead of pumpkin but they were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! The first time making it, I didn't have the flax or wheat germ and just used xtra whl wht flour for flax and ground almonds for the wheat germ. I followed the suggestions of others and added about a 1/2c extra of both buttermilk and pumpkin to avoid dryness. I also increased choc chips to 3/4c and sprinkled sugar on top of the muffins. I read that they don't rise much so I didn't bother filling the muffins cup just half way--I filled them until they were rounded (using all my mix in just 12 muffins) This made perfect muffins that actually rised a good 1/2inch over the top of the cup. I would definetly recommend spraying the cups as this recipe doesn't have any fat and the muffins stick to the paper if you don't! I have all the ingredients now and will be trying this recipe out again today as it is written with the exception of still adding extra buttermilk/pumpkin. I am also going to keep the chocolate chips at the recommended 1/2c as increasing them last time made my muffins seem too much like Otis Spunkmeyer (delicious but less healthy). I love the crackled appearance the sprinkled sugar gave the muffin tops---that technique is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I usually dont care for chocolate muffins. Most sweet muffins taste like greasy cake to me. But this was totally different not greasy at all with the perfect amount of sweet! I made this exactly as the recipes states and it came out perfect. It also made exactly as many muffins as the recipe states. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

Deliciously moist chocolate muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States