Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by athomemamma11
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Delicious! Everyone in the family loves them! We subbed oat brand for wheat germ and used 3/4cup of pure maple syrup instead of brown sugar and they turned out fantastic. My 3 year old (who did most of the work himself) loves them. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athomemamma11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Reading somewhere that flax could be sbstituted for wheat germ, I added a LOT of flax. I got very dense muffins. So, add extra flour if you don't have wheat germ, but all that flax makes these dense! I will make them again before rating them...but as is, the taste is decicious, just need to fix the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Super awesome - loved by my 5yr olds (both the making and eating), which says a lot :). 20 mins at 400 was perfect. Didn't have buttermilk or wheat germ so upped flour and used regular milk ... not sure how they'd be different, but they were great made our way :). Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I wanted to bake something on a snowy day, and tried these. I really like them! I used 2 very ripe bananas instead of pumpkin, and oatmeal instead of wheat germ because I didn't have any. I also used a mixture of yogurt and milk instead of buttermilk. I had to add about 1/2 cup water because the mixture seemed too dry. Once I filled the 12 muffin cups, they looked way too full so I took a little scoop out of each one and filled a dozen mini-muffins. The minis baked in 10 minutes, and the regular size were done in 18 minutes. Both my husband and I enjoyed them. They were nice and chocolatey and pretty moist. I thought they were plenty sweet. I think next time I'll use smaller scoops and make 2 dozen, and add a few walnuts and another banana. Now I can have chocolate cake for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These are awesome! I was looking for an easy double chocolate muffin recipe that I could tweak to make healthier - this one is already tweaked! I did substitute some white flour for some of the whole wheat flour and some oil and applesauce for the pumpkin. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Although the ingredients seemed a bit strange, I trusted the high reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using only 1/4 cup wheat germ cause that's all I had left. I don't understand how others reviewed this highly. These were flavorless and odd tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Yeah, yeah, I subbed more whole wheat flour for ground flax seed, left out the wheat germ, cocoa & chips. 'Still giving a good rating. With those changes, I think it's a matter of preference than the actual recipe. Huh? :D 'Meaning I don't care for chocolate & pumpkin/spices together - so I didn't add them. K? :) Review: Good muffins, not very spicy or all that pumpkin-y, but good. Surprisingly moist. 'Added 1/2t salt. 'May make again upping & varying the spices, which is almost unheard of from me since I'm one of those "weirdos" that wants pumpkin pie, muffins, etc to taste like pumpkin not a "spice whatever" with pumpkin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Am I the only one who was surprised that there was not any salt in this recipe? Not looking at the recipe, I went to my cabinet and got out all my usual muffin ingredients - baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder, and salt. Double check - whaaaa? No salt? So I added some anyway, 1/2 tsp. I really think it helped bring out the sweetness a little more. I didn't have any pumpkin on hand, so I subbed banana baby food. :/ I wasn't going to let lack of pumpkin keep me from making this recipe. Everyone loved it, from the babies to the grandmas and everyone in the middle. The consistency was soooo good, almost fudgy. This is going in the recipe box for sure! Edit: I made these again, this time with pumpkin. Now, I love me some pumpkin, no doubt. However, I have to say that I'll make it with banana next time. It added a depth of sweetness and flavor that rounded these muffins out. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was a tasty muffin, yet I would like to tweak it to make it more moist. I followed the recipe exactly, and I must say that the batter was easy to work with, and the muffins did not stick to my (greased) muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Really great & kids loved them too! I didn't have pumpkin so I substituted applesauce - turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States