Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Although the ingredients seemed a bit strange, I trusted the high reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using only 1/4 cup wheat germ cause that's all I had left. I don't understand how others reviewed this highly. These were flavorless and odd tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Yeah, yeah, I subbed more whole wheat flour for ground flax seed, left out the wheat germ, cocoa & chips. 'Still giving a good rating. With those changes, I think it's a matter of preference than the actual recipe. Huh? :D 'Meaning I don't care for chocolate & pumpkin/spices together - so I didn't add them. K? :) Review: Good muffins, not very spicy or all that pumpkin-y, but good. Surprisingly moist. 'Added 1/2t salt. 'May make again upping & varying the spices, which is almost unheard of from me since I'm one of those "weirdos" that wants pumpkin pie, muffins, etc to taste like pumpkin not a "spice whatever" with pumpkin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Am I the only one who was surprised that there was not any salt in this recipe? Not looking at the recipe, I went to my cabinet and got out all my usual muffin ingredients - baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder, and salt. Double check - whaaaa? No salt? So I added some anyway, 1/2 tsp. I really think it helped bring out the sweetness a little more. I didn't have any pumpkin on hand, so I subbed banana baby food. :/ I wasn't going to let lack of pumpkin keep me from making this recipe. Everyone loved it, from the babies to the grandmas and everyone in the middle. The consistency was soooo good, almost fudgy. This is going in the recipe box for sure! Edit: I made these again, this time with pumpkin. Now, I love me some pumpkin, no doubt. However, I have to say that I'll make it with banana next time. It added a depth of sweetness and flavor that rounded these muffins out. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was a tasty muffin, yet I would like to tweak it to make it more moist. I followed the recipe exactly, and I must say that the batter was easy to work with, and the muffins did not stick to my (greased) muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Really great & kids loved them too! I didn't have pumpkin so I substituted applesauce - turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This has to be the most decadent amazing muffins I've ever made. A definate keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These are great - they are exactly what the ingredients profess them to be; a chocolaty healthy(ish) muffin! I love that there is no oil in them, and lots of good heart healthy whole grains The mini chocolate chips are great to "discover" as you're enjoying the muffins. I followed ingredients exactly as written and baked 20 minutes and they came out great. Good for a breakfast treat or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I agree with another reviewer - too much flax made these really dense. Flavour was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Great healthy muffins! I substituted protein powder for some of the flour and did not use the chocolate chips and they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Just popped these out of the oven. First off I noticed since there is no oil they only needed to cook for about 15 minutes (my oven is accurate) good thing I checked them or they would have overcooked. Second, the flavor is pretty "blah". I made the recipe exactly as written, no changes except the cook time. I'm fairly shocked at the reviews calling these delicious, I notice many people changed the recipe so maybe that's what made them "delicious". For me, I made them as directed they are quite bland. I can't taste the cocoa at all so the only chocolate flavor you get is if you bite on a choc. chip. I do love that they are healthy and pretty moist so we will finish them up. Though after being on a calorie-conscious diet for several months I can think of other snacks that have alot more flavor for 237 calories or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States