Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Delicious chocolate muffins! I used jumbo muffin pans and cooked at 375 for 25-30 minutes. I also added a cream cheese filling (8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla). I will absolutely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
these were delicious, very nutritious and tasty. Chocolate was a hit to camouflage the healthy ingredients. These will become a new hit for the lunch boxes, thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Lots of nutrition packed in these! I love them..but weren't a hit with the kiddos. I will definitely continue making them for myself however. I do wish the calorie count was a little lower..might try lowering the sugar content some in the future. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Wow! These muffins were surprisingly good...I was unsure of how they would taste, with all the strange, healthy ingredients. I didn't tell my family what was in them until they had devoured them all...even the ones who HATE whole wheat with a vengeance really loved these muffins! I did notice that the wheat germ left little "flecks" in the muffin texture that was slightly annoying...it was the only thing that made these muffins seem "healthy." Even so, I consider any recipe that will get all members of my family to enjoy whole grain to be a success...thanks for sharing! I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was very pleasantly surprised, never having worked with both wheat germ and flax seed, and in the same recipe with pumpkin. The only change I made was baking this as a loaf instead of muffins. We enjoyed this and will have it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I didn't have everything the recipe called for so I ground some oats for the flax seed, used applesauce instead of the pumpkin, and unsweetened silk and vinegar for the buttermilk. I think that was it. Still, these we so good and next time I'll try to be a little more prepared. UPDATE- I used ground flax this time and the muffins were lighter and more tender. I still used applesauce though. Next fall I'll fill my freezer with pumpkin just for these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yum yum yum! I love chocolate, so double chocolate? Hey how can you go wrong. But I digress - these were awesome considering they had a lot of healthy ingredients in there. You really can't tell! The wheat germ did seem to give it a bit of a "crunch" here and there but it was good nonetheless! I made mine into mini muffins and adjusted the baking time accordingly. They were the perfect bite sized treats for an afternoon snack. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I'm eating these right now and I am speechless! Absolutely delicious. I made the recipe as is except I added a little less sugar and made a loaf instead of muffins. You would not know that these are healthier. My loaf doesn't have "flecks" in them like others mentioned. The picky kids love them which is a bonus. Will definitely be making these regularly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCravings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
These are deceivingly delicious! and like another reviewer (Larkspur - your dead on about the specks being annoying), the little bits were not visually appealing but the taste made up for it. I made them into mini muffins and took the to the office, no one was the wiser and they devoured them! :) Thanks for the recipe, definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
My kids are wild for these muffins -- they brag to their friends that their mom lets them have chocolate muffins for breakfast. I usually tweak recipes after making them the first time but this one is great just as it is. These are delicious muffins that I can feel good serving to everyone. Many thanks to fiestaqueen for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States