Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by A. Cole
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Definitely the most delicious healthy muffin I've ever made. It isn't overly sweet, so the chocolate chips are definitely key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Not as sweet as you would expect them to be with 1 cup of sugar. The pumpkin taste is completely hidden under the chocolate (so as you'd expect my two-year-old loved them). I substituted whole wheat flour for white without any problem. Overall very tasty and a good combination of good-for-you and a chocolaty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Truly Irresistible! These were so good I forgot they were healthy. I didn't have choc. chips so I cut up semi sweet baking chocolate. Other than that I didn't change a thing. This is a great find - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These muffins were excellent!!! My dad loved these and said they were a keeper. I'm not the biggest fan of sweet chocolate muffins, so these were perfect. Not too sweet and perfect for breakfast. You can't taste the pumpkin either and they were dry and grainy from the flax and wheat germ. The only difference I did was to add vinegar to skim milk instead of buttermilk. Also 400 is probably way too high for most stoves. Stick with 350!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
OMG, these are FANTASTIC. I can't believe that they are full of whole wheat and hidden pumpkin. They are out of control delicious. UPDATE: Made them again last night, using bran instead of the wheat germ and they were just as delicious. These are hands-down my new favourite "healthy" muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I was very impressed when I saw this recipe. I thought the muffins were very tasty and I really enjoyed the cinnimon. I did make a small change, I didn't have pumkin puree so I cooked a small sweet potato and mashed it up. Next time I make this I think I might add some peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These are great!! I did not have flax seed so after some research decided to replace with whole wheat flour and thank goodness they worked out wonderfully with nice round tops!! My son who is the pickiest eater on the planet with many food aversions, LOVES THESE!! And they are healthy.. By the way I went and bought the ground flax seed for when I make them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Okay these are completely fabulous. They are rich and taste decadent and yet are low in fat and healthy. I can't wait for my kids to try them, I don't think they'll know they are healthy. LOL I'll definitely be making these again and wouldn't mind at all if my kids were eating one every day. Or me too for that matter! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
It's hard to believe these are whole grain and low in fat! I love how healthy these are! My husband will love these for his mid morning snack. I didn't have a few of the ingredients so I made some substitutions: I used coarsely ground oats for the wheat germ, 1 Tbsp. lemon juice plus milk to equal 1 cup for the buttermilk, and 1 cup regular chocolate chips for the 1/2 cup minis. Then I added some raw sugar on top for some crunchiness. Right out of the oven they stuck to the paper, so next time I will probably just grease the pan well and skip the paper liners. I got 18 regular-size muffins out of this recipe. And if you're wondering about the cinnamon, use it! It's not a real dominant flavor, instead it just enhances the chocolate flavor. Thanks for this recipe, I will likely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States