Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
AMAZING MUFFINS! I was craving chocolate muffins from Sweet Tomatoes, and so I was looking through recipes. I decided to try this one because I don't eat anything "unhealthy", so I don't use AP flour etc. I halved this recipe, used half brown & half evaporated cane sugar. Subbed buttermilk for 1/2 cup soymilk & 2 tsp. Apple cider vinegar. I also recommend people to get chocolate chips that have a 60%-70% cocoa content if you want that ooey gooey yummy chocoholic yummyness we all want sometimes. Just roughly chop them up and throw them in with the dry ingredients. I also used 1/3 of the cinnamon that was posted, and I think it made a difference in the batter. I also used greek yogurt instead of pumpkin puree, since I didn't have it on hand. I LOVE THIS RECIPE! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made these this morning....soooooo delicious & moist! Very chocolatey too!!! Even my husband likes them! ( I didn't tell him of all the good things in them of course, or I'm sure he wouldn't have liked them ! ) I have put the recipe in our favorites, and will definitely make them again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was great. I did not have any whole wheat flour at the time so I used all white flour, but it still came out great. They have just the right amount of chocolate to sugar and the wheat germ gives them nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr-E

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great recipe. A little drier that traditional muffins, so my 2nd batch, I added a 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/8 cup oil. Also subtituted turbinado sugar for the brown sugar and sprinkled a little on top before baking. I think I will also try adding banana next time since canned pumpkin is scarce right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These muffins are very good...for being healthy muffins. I really liked them, but my three-year-old did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Tasty, but definitely had a different texture. I am hoping that toasting the wheat germ next time I make these will fix that. It was kind of like having bits of straw in my muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These muffins are very tasty. Since I didn’t have buttermilk, I subbed 1 tbsp white vinegar in a measuring cup and filled the rest with milk and let it set for a few minutes. I also used regular chocolate chips chopped smaller because I didn’t have minis. And what the heck, I made them triple chocolate muffins by doubling the chocolate chips to 1 cup - the more chocolate the merrier, right? These baked up nicely in only 13 minutes. These were still moist and yummy the next day! Now this is one baked good I don’t feel too guilty about eating! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Really good. Used 1/2 cup brown sugar and stevia instead 1 cup brown sugar. Like other reviewers used ground oats instead of wheat germ & 1 cup of mini choc chips. Next time I'll add a mashed banana or some applesauce to make it a little moister. Great healthy snack for my 6yr old (and me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were excellent. My friends loved them, and I make them when I need a chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
5 stars for a healthy muffin, but maybe only 4 stars for a traditional muffin. My muffins cooked really quickly and were finished in 16 minutes. I didn't have mini choc chips so used regular sized. I do not recommend this tiny switch because the big chips were too sparse in the muffins. Also, I had to use whole wheat flour in place of wheat germ because I didn't have that on hand - this switch may have contributed to the shorter cooking time. Great for my chocolate cravings but I'm not sure kids would like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States