Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Tasty, but definitely had a different texture. I am hoping that toasting the wheat germ next time I make these will fix that. It was kind of like having bits of straw in my muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These muffins are very tasty. Since I didn’t have buttermilk, I subbed 1 tbsp white vinegar in a measuring cup and filled the rest with milk and let it set for a few minutes. I also used regular chocolate chips chopped smaller because I didn’t have minis. And what the heck, I made them triple chocolate muffins by doubling the chocolate chips to 1 cup - the more chocolate the merrier, right? These baked up nicely in only 13 minutes. These were still moist and yummy the next day! Now this is one baked good I don’t feel too guilty about eating! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Really good. Used 1/2 cup brown sugar and stevia instead 1 cup brown sugar. Like other reviewers used ground oats instead of wheat germ & 1 cup of mini choc chips. Next time I'll add a mashed banana or some applesauce to make it a little moister. Great healthy snack for my 6yr old (and me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were excellent. My friends loved them, and I make them when I need a chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
5 stars for a healthy muffin, but maybe only 4 stars for a traditional muffin. My muffins cooked really quickly and were finished in 16 minutes. I didn't have mini choc chips so used regular sized. I do not recommend this tiny switch because the big chips were too sparse in the muffins. Also, I had to use whole wheat flour in place of wheat germ because I didn't have that on hand - this switch may have contributed to the shorter cooking time. Great for my chocolate cravings but I'm not sure kids would like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very good muffins. I made them without any substitutions, and they were a little chewy. I will try modifiying, but all in all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Very filling in a healthy sort of way. They freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Fantastic muffin-great flavor, moist and healthy to boot!! I added raisins the second time at the request of DH-and also decreased amount of sugar a little-excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These are wonderful! The only change I made was to cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. My kids LOVE them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My oldest son and I made these together this morning. We both had a good ol' time. He made the recipe as is and was quite meticulous at making sure we measured the right amount and used the right ingredients. We didn't have mini-chips, so we used regular chocolate chips. I wisked the dry ingredients together until smooth, then tossed the chips in the dry. We added the combined wet ingredients and used the spatula to fold in the wet until everything was just moistened. That made a really fluffy muffin. My son thought the sugar crystals on the top were a great idea, so we sprinkled a little Sugar in the Raw on top of the muffins before baking. Really, REALLY good. Especially with a cup of hot coffee. All but three are gone. We really enjoyed these. I do think that when we make these again, I would cut back on the cinnamon just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States