Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious -- had to make a few subs -- whole oat flour in place of the whole wheat, almond milk and one Tbsp vinegar for the buttermilk -- also left out the egg (vegan), used Hershey's special dark cocoa and broken up Bakers Semi Sweet Chocolate -- I love chocolate! Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I've made these twice now: the first time I followed the recipe with the one exception of using a half cup of ground almond meal rather than wheat germ (simply preference). They are pretty good for being a much healthier alternative to the normal chocolate muffin. I wouldn't make them as stated again, though, since I like my less healthy muffins too much. So, I changed up a few things and they still were a 3 star recipe in my book. I appreciate the health-oriented recipe and will keep these in mind if I can talk myself into eating healthier......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
these are absolutely delicious!!! I used wheat bran instead of germ and I love it. The pumpkin puree makes it nice and moist and they do satisfy the chocolate cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These are great! Just what I was looking for as a substitute for the chocolate muffins at the bakery that my kids love. They are a staple for us now. Have made with substitutions and turned out fine, but best with original recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newton
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made this recipe several times now and love it! However, I have modified it to make it better suit my husband's and my taste. Main problem from the original recipe I found was being too dry and hard. Here is what I modified: double the butter milk and chocolate chips. I used mini muffin pan and baked them for 15 minutes, and they came out so tender and perfect! Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe with high hopes, but these did not hit the mark. They are not what I was hoping. These are moist but grainy and the flavor is not all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
These are WONDERFUL! I followed the recipe to the letter, except I added two tbsp of vegetable for a bit of unsaturated fat and better texture. They cooked up beautifully with nice round tops (a bit grainy looking, but that's alright). I used a quarter cup of wheat germ and a quarter cup of ground steel-cut oats instead of all wheat germ. The buttermilk and pumpkin make these rich and delicious, and the chocolate chips are just the extra kick of chocolate these need. They don't even need butter-- so yummy!! And secretly healthy! But watch it on how many you eat... my friends call these "regularity" muffins. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
IF YOU LIKE THE HEALTHY TASTE THEN THESE ARE PERFECT. I ADDED DOUBLE THE CHOCOLATE CHIP IT ASKED BC IT NEEDED IT. I STILL ATE THEM BUT NEXT TIME I WILL TRY ADDED A FRUIT N NUTS FOR MORE FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Love these! Fairly healthy and super tasty, even my 2 1/2 year old picky son gobbles them up. My tip to people who had a dense muffin is to spoon the flour into the cup rather than scooping directly from the bag -- this compacts the flour and will lead to a more dense finished product. You can also use a whole wheat pastry flour for a fluffier muffin. Either way, they're excellent and I make them often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
surprisingly good! i substituted flax with whole wheat flour and added some extra chocolate chips. the recipe made about 1.5 dozen, which baked in about 18-20 minutes. the texture is grittier than a regular chocolate muffin of course, but this is a great substitute when a chocolate crazing hits! my toddler enjoyed these as well. next time i'll try mashed banana instead of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States